Hot Honey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
The recipe for this chicken was just plain terrible. I made the recipe according to the directions and it smelled so much like hot sauce and tasted very much like it that I even doubled my honey. Even then the chicken tasted much like hot sauce will NOT make this chicken again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
sweet & spicy! Delicious. I sliced the chicken and sauteed it with the sauce and frozen broccoli. Served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I think the reviewer from 9/26/2003 was right, the results of this recipe will vary a lot based on the style of sauce you use. We used Frank's Red Hot sauce, and followed the recipe exactly except we broiled boneless breasts instead of grilling whole pieces. I can't stand vinegary food, and with Frank's it wasn't too vinegary at all. Unfortunately, it also wasn't very spicy at all, it would be a good idea to marinate for a little while. This isn't our favorite recipe ever, but it's sure fast and easy, and can be part of a healthy quick dinner. It went really well with carrot and celery sticks and ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This recipe is great. I have never seen my boyfriend clean a chicken bone like this before. Perfect amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
We really liked this recipe! Seems like the cooking time is a little too long, but we're not sure -- we're brand-new grill owners, and still learning. Sauce was delicious, I can't wait to use it on something else. Pork chops, veggie kabobs... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
We didn't care for this at all. It smelled like vinegar and so the sweetness and heat was lost. It's a geat idea though and I'm willing to wonder if our hot sauce was the wrong type to use (Tabosco brand) but we won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
Gave this a try last night for something quick and easy. Was definitely quick and easy, however, the flavour of just the hot sauce, pepper and honey on the chicken was just so so. Just coated the outside of the chicken and didn't make my family go "wow". Might try marinading it next time to see if that gives the meat a bit more wham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
VERY tasty! I added a little extra hotsauce for that KICK! This is a keeper with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
Was a little too spicy - next time we'll use less hot sauce, but other wise extremele tasty. I cooked the sliced chicken in a pan and poured all the sauce in with the chicken. The sauce thickens as it cooks and it's great on rice or noodles. Toss in your favorite veggies and it's great! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was excellent. Used chicken leg quarters and cooked on convection roast in the oven at 350 for about 45 minutes. Basted chicken with the sauce every 10 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

See how to grill sweet and savory chicken and veggie kabobs.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States