Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These sandwiches tasted perfect! Simple and easy to make for a quick lunch or dinner. My husband didn't seem too thrilled with these, but I think he was wanting something more elaborate for dinner when he got home from work. Oh well, my three year old and I liked them a lot. I loved the flavor of the horseradish mustard/butter/onion mixture, I think it complemented the ham and Swiss very well. The onion flavor wasn't too overpowering and the horseradish gave the sandwich just enough of a kick to make it not just an ordinary sandwich. Thank you for sharing your recipe, Lois!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Yum yum! We all loved these! Exactly as the recipe is written, I didn't change a thing, perfect for wrapping up in foil and taking to work if you have an oven or sandwich press, much better than ordinary ham and cheese sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Yum!! I didn't really follow the directions to the t but this turned out awesome. I used steak buns and spread mayo with garlic powder on one side and mustard with horseradish on the other. Used havarti instead of swiss (which I am not fond of) and baked as directed. The flavors matched wonderfully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very tasty! I tweaked this a bit just to suit our personal taste - nothing major, though. I used chopped chives instead of the onion (milder flavor), shaved ham instead of sliced, and mild cheddar in place of the Swiss. The spread was easy to mix up and I really liked the horseradish mustard. My husband and I both liked these sandwiches and it was perfect for a quick weeknight dinner. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, Lois!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
i love a hot ham and cheese sammy every now and again. i used leftover ham and i didnt use any poppy seeds or dill seeds. still came out great tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Not bad. Not bad at all. After removing from the oven I added a slice of beefsteak tomato and cold pickles and cole slaw to give it some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Made these for a Christmas Eve casual gathering. Really easy to make ahead of time and keep warm in the oven. I made one set of ham and swiss and another with turkey and pepperjack. Both were big hits!! Planning on making them again for a baby shower. This time I'll add roast beef and horseradish cheddar into the mix! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This recipe has been in our family for many years and has always been a big hit although our recipe calls for sharp or extra sharp cheddar cheese(I use Cracker Barrel brand) but some family members prefer Swiss. I also prefer shaved ham to slices. Our recipe had omitted the dill but I look forward to trying it next time I make these (which I'm thinking will be very soon). These can also be refrigerated and ready to pop into the oven when time is short. Thanks for reminding me of a great sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Great recipe! I love the combination of ham and swiss so I had to try these. The horseradish definitely gives these a nice "kick". Perfect with a bowl of tomato soup for a quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This had a wonderful flavor. I don't even like onions so I used dried minced and I really liked this even with the onion. I didn't have horseradish mustard what I did have was a specialty mayonnaise that was horseradish-Dijon made with grey Poupon. I added a dab of prepared mustard to compensate for the mayo part. I didn't have dill seed, so I used dill weed sparingly (same plant right?). This needed more ham as I used shaved and it was bit skimpy and there needed to be a better balance between bread and filling. I barely had enough spread to make this so maybe I am heavy handed but I really had to work to stretch the spread to all the bread. I used French bread and it was perfect, crispy on the outside and soft and tender in the middle with the flavors in the middle. I baked this for 25 min though at 350* since I had something else baking at the same time. Wonderful hot sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States