Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These sandwiches tasted perfect! Simple and easy to make for a quick lunch or dinner. My husband didn't seem too thrilled with these, but I think he was wanting something more elaborate for dinner when he got home from work. Oh well, my three year old and I liked them a lot. I loved the flavor of the horseradish mustard/butter/onion mixture, I think it complemented the ham and Swiss very well. The onion flavor wasn't too overpowering and the horseradish gave the sandwich just enough of a kick to make it not just an ordinary sandwich. Thank you for sharing your recipe, Lois!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Yum yum! We all loved these! Exactly as the recipe is written, I didn't change a thing, perfect for wrapping up in foil and taking to work if you have an oven or sandwich press, much better than ordinary ham and cheese sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Yum!! I didn't really follow the directions to the t but this turned out awesome. I used steak buns and spread mayo with garlic powder on one side and mustard with horseradish on the other. Used havarti instead of swiss (which I am not fond of) and baked as directed. The flavors matched wonderfully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Very tasty! I tweaked this a bit just to suit our personal taste - nothing major, though. I used chopped chives instead of the onion (milder flavor), shaved ham instead of sliced, and mild cheddar in place of the Swiss. The spread was easy to mix up and I really liked the horseradish mustard. My husband and I both liked these sandwiches and it was perfect for a quick weeknight dinner. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, Lois!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
i love a hot ham and cheese sammy every now and again. i used leftover ham and i didnt use any poppy seeds or dill seeds. still came out great tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Not bad. Not bad at all. After removing from the oven I added a slice of beefsteak tomato and cold pickles and cole slaw to give it some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Made these for a Christmas Eve casual gathering. Really easy to make ahead of time and keep warm in the oven. I made one set of ham and swiss and another with turkey and pepperjack. Both were big hits!! Planning on making them again for a baby shower. This time I'll add roast beef and horseradish cheddar into the mix! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This recipe has been in our family for many years and has always been a big hit although our recipe calls for sharp or extra sharp cheddar cheese(I use Cracker Barrel brand) but some family members prefer Swiss. I also prefer shaved ham to slices. Our recipe had omitted the dill but I look forward to trying it next time I make these (which I'm thinking will be very soon). These can also be refrigerated and ready to pop into the oven when time is short. Thanks for reminding me of a great sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Great recipe! I love the combination of ham and swiss so I had to try these. The horseradish definitely gives these a nice "kick". Perfect with a bowl of tomato soup for a quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This had a wonderful flavor. I don't even like onions so I used dried minced and I really liked this even with the onion. I didn't have horseradish mustard what I did have was a specialty mayonnaise that was horseradish-Dijon made with grey Poupon. I added a dab of prepared mustard to compensate for the mayo part. I didn't have dill seed, so I used dill weed sparingly (same plant right?). This needed more ham as I used shaved and it was bit skimpy and there needed to be a better balance between bread and filling. I barely had enough spread to make this so maybe I am heavy handed but I really had to work to stretch the spread to all the bread. I used French bread and it was perfect, crispy on the outside and soft and tender in the middle with the flavors in the middle. I baked this for 25 min though at 350* since I had something else baking at the same time. Wonderful hot sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States