Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I just made this tonight, as I'm always looking for something grab and go before Scouts on meeting nights. So Easy to put together and just right . I had to customize since horseradish isn't a favorite in our house. I substituted 2 Tbsp mayo for the butter, used Dijon mustard and a touch of honey, but left the rest of the seasonings the same. I used a 12 pack of King's Hawaiian dinner rolls, covered with aluminum foil and baked for 20 mins at 225°. Served with baked beans. Voila! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Mitchell, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I used unusually soft ciabatta rolls for the bread, sautéed the onions first and left out the dill seed(didn't have any). These were great I used shaved tavern ham from the deli and smeared the spread on both sides of the rolls. My husband went crazy for them. Served with homemade tomato soup, what a meal!! Will definitely add to our dinner rotation for the cold months ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Terribly overrated recipe in my opinion. Made these sandwiches tonight using kaiser rolls and ingredients exactly as recipe directs. Made 4. There's not enough filling, the dill seed was $6/small jar and had very little impact on the sandwich and the amount of butter mixture was just barely enough to cover one side of each of the 4 kasier rolls. Will not be repeating this as I've made other baked sandwiches that were far better and less expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I make these with shaved ham on mini Kaiser rolls. I wrap them individually in saran wrap and store them in the fridge. Great snack for the kids just pop them in the microwave for 45 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I took a reviews advice and did the butter, mustard then added mayo. I also cooked them at 300 degrees for about 20 minutes. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
So yummy and so simple! I just made a couple minor adjustments - I left out the dill and I added a few TBSPS of mayo to the sauce. I also used dinner rolls instead of hamburg buns, so they were more like sliders than whole sandwiches. Sliced the rolls, spread butter on both sides (I didn't put butter in the sauce), ham, cheese then the sauce. Wrapped in foil and cooked according to the recipe. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Great idea, but will change the spread to a butter/mayo/mustard base instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Yummy yummy little sandwich!!! I did add some mayo but it really didn't need it. I didn't have any dill seed so I used dill weed. Also used ciabatta bread cause it sounded good. Loved the chopped onion and the horseradish in this...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
The dill seed ruined this. It was just too strong. Without that it would have been OK. Needs more butter and I will try a version of this with horseradish and Dijon mustard. It needed a bigger bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was pretty good - I made the following changes: 1/4 cup Mayo, 3 Tbsp Horseradish Mustard, 2 Tbsp finely minced onion, 1 Tbsp pickle relish and a little bit of splenda to cut the acidity - mixed well and spread on the buns. Then I used 3 slices Deli Honey Ham for each sandwich, with mild cheddar cheese. Wrapped up and heated in the oven. They went over well - the sauce was a huge hit. Definitely a repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizWasy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States