Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
Thank you! For 15 plus years my husband has been telling me what great German Potato salad his mother used to make. I've even stood next to her, watched her make it, and written down what she did, but his verdict was always "Not as good." This recipe got a "pretty close" which from my husband is like a gold medal! I used red potatoes, increased the salt to 1 tablespoon, used white wine vinegar and 1 tsp of celery seeds. He loved it! So for anyone who's looking for a great warm potato salad recipe to please a Hoosier, this one is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
We served this potato salad at a recent cookout at ourhouse, with an Oktoberfest theme. Everyone LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
Very good - my guests enjoyed it, and it was even better the second day. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
Excellent and easy to make. I did double the "sauce" ingrediants because I like juicy potatoes. Will add this recipe to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
This recipe was great. Very easy to make, delicious results. If I can make it anyone can......Rating Two Thumbs Up. MAN/HUSBAND easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
I have tried several German Potato Salad recipes, this one was by far the easiest and the most tasteful. This one is a keeper. Debbie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEB30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Destin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
This was an excellent recipe. I used additional vinegar (apple cider) to add a little zip to the salad. My kids loved it, and ask for it again. Wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
My husband and I just returned from a wonderful vacation in Leavenworth, WA, where we had some absolutely fabulous German food. My husband has always turned up his nose at potato salads (he doesn't like mayonnaise & hard-boiled eggs) and I had a hard time convincing him to try German Potato Salad. When he did try it, he loved it and requested that I find a recipe as soon as we got home. Even though this recipe is a little different than the salad we had in Leavenworth we found it to be VERY good. My husband said that it's a definate "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
I took this to a BBQ and everyone loved it- even after it got cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
Easy to prepare. Has a tangy taste made this different than other recipes I have tried. I will make this recipe again. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States