Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This recipe is delicious. This reminds me of the hot german potato salad my Austrian mother would make. I suggest doubling the flour, sugar, salt etc and accordingly doubling the vinegar & water. I have made this recipe with 50% apple cider & 50% white balsamic vinegar & this gives it a nice tart taste. Like my mother I add caraway seeds at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnchick84

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was soooo good! Just the right amount of tang. I would probably drain a little bacon grease off next time, otherwise it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Needed more sauce. Good to let the bacon get very crisp/black so it will crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very good basic recipe. I added more vinegar and less water and sugar. It is very easy to adjust this to taste. Also used much less flour to keep the dressing lighter rather than heavier like gravy. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Superb! It needs about 1 1/2 the dressing for my taste but it is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valdez, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is exactly the same as the handwritten recipe I received from my German born grandmother 30 years ago before she passed away. She had made notes on it about the ingredients (ie: use approx. 3 pounds of potatoes, cider vinegar not white, a bit more bacon if available, boil potatoes whole and slice, use red potatoes, use a bit of brown sugar). She added more liquid (if it was too thick) more vinegar (if it wasn't tart enough), etc. She always made adjustments according to the circumstances. I have added my own twists - like a pinch of dry mustard for a tiny bite and stirred in chopped chives or scallions at the end for a burst of flavor. Her final note was " start here for good potato salad." It has all the basics you need to make a great Hot German Potato salad - so this is indeed - a good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My grandmother is from Germany and this recipe reminded me so much of her potato salad. It's the best recipe I've found so far!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
First time ever having german potato salad & definitely won't be the last. Smelled wonderful while cooking. Much tastier while still hot, but ok chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very tasty and very easy! Made for lots of get-togethers and everybody loves it and there is never any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 61-70 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States