Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was soooo good! Just the right amount of tang. I would probably drain a little bacon grease off next time, otherwise it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Needed more sauce. Good to let the bacon get very crisp/black so it will crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very good basic recipe. I added more vinegar and less water and sugar. It is very easy to adjust this to taste. Also used much less flour to keep the dressing lighter rather than heavier like gravy. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Superb! It needs about 1 1/2 the dressing for my taste but it is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valdez, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is exactly the same as the handwritten recipe I received from my German born grandmother 30 years ago before she passed away. She had made notes on it about the ingredients (ie: use approx. 3 pounds of potatoes, cider vinegar not white, a bit more bacon if available, boil potatoes whole and slice, use red potatoes, use a bit of brown sugar). She added more liquid (if it was too thick) more vinegar (if it wasn't tart enough), etc. She always made adjustments according to the circumstances. I have added my own twists - like a pinch of dry mustard for a tiny bite and stirred in chopped chives or scallions at the end for a burst of flavor. Her final note was " start here for good potato salad." It has all the basics you need to make a great Hot German Potato salad - so this is indeed - a good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My grandmother is from Germany and this recipe reminded me so much of her potato salad. It's the best recipe I've found so far!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
First time ever having german potato salad & definitely won't be the last. Smelled wonderful while cooking. Much tastier while still hot, but ok chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very tasty and very easy! Made for lots of get-togethers and everybody loves it and there is never any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was fabulous. The recipe was fabulous in and of itself and my guests were raving about this recipe. The only modification I would make next time is to add 50% more potatoes and double the "sauce." Likewise, I would add a teaspoon or two of dried mustard seed - It gives it a more traditional flavoring. I like my hot german potato salad a bit on the saucy side - getting it too dry is so "blegh." Might as well boil plain potatoes and eat them right out of the pain with only a dash of salt and other flavor. But it IS the best recipe base I have ever used, and was well loved by those I served. (made a German dinner - Bratwurst, German potato salad, braised red cabbage, sauerkraut and Brussels sprouts.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My sister used this recipe last weekend. Everyone was loving the dish. On my drive home, I was hankering for more of the Hot German Potato Salad. This weekend I am going to make it and add it to my favorite list of foods. It was THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbrown
Home Town: Pioneer, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States