Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This recipe is absolutely amazing! My husband said it's better than any German potato salad he's ever had! I agree with other reviewers that suggest using small red potatoes as you have a more saucy salad versus using larger potatoes. The sauce is amazing and I often mix my less exciting vegetables like peas or broccoli into the sauce left over on my plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kirstenw05
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Grest recipe. I used a combo of white, red and purple potatoes (9 small total) and the rest of the recipe exactly as written and it turned out great. Peeling is much easier after the potatoes are cooked. Actually I did adjust the liquid - I did 1/3 C vinegar and then just added water to make it a cup, so only 2/3 C water. Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Wonderful as-is – I thought the amount of sauce was just right. I made a half-recipe for 6 people. Be aware if you scale the recipe on the web site to 6 servings, it did not adjust the pepper amount correctly for me – it stayed at the original amount. I used medium red potatoes, and substituted chopped chives for onions to make it low-FODMAP. The chives cut the cooking time down, and made the salad pretty. The kids all liked it. I served it for a German-themed meal with Weiner schnitzel, rye bread and “Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage” from this site. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe – it’s a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Great recipe. Added another 1/4 cup of vinegar to kick up the flavor. Overall excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Partee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal Clapp
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I have made it twice the first time there wasn't enough sauce for me so the second time I used more bacon and it turned out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Clapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great! It has been decades ago, but just like grandmother used to make. Only substitution was GF flour for wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This recipe is spot on! Absolutely delicious. ..I did add more bacon though, lets face it, bacon makes everything just a little bit better! My family loved it! I can't wait to tell my mother-in-law! It was actually better than hers! Shhhhh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Buelow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Really good. Classic german potato salad flavor. Great warm or cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Love it! Used red potatoes, boiled them whole - unpeeled, doubled the sauce mix, but did not increase the flour. Used cider vinegar. Used about 3/4 lb of bacon. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this for a family picnic, it was a huge hit! I did double the sauce as I was reheating it in the crock pot the day of the picnic. Thanks, Tequila
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States