Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Followed the recipe except used a package of Simply Potatoes, the sliced variety, instead of peeling, cooking and slicing my own. The sauce was enough for the amount of potatoes in the package. Using this shortcut made the recipe very easy. My husband has been asking for german potatoes but every recipe I have seen before just seems too time consuming. We both loved the recipe and I will be serving him his German potatoes on a regular basis now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I've been making this for years and didn't realize I never rated it! I double the sauce, use cider vinegar instead of white, a ton more bacon (we are bacon lovers) and use half celery seed/half celery flakes. I lost my German great-grandmother's recipe and with my tweaks on this recipe it is the same as hers. Another thing...I always, always, always throw this together and put it in a slow (225F) oven for a few hours, give or take. It really melds the flavors, I try to make this the day before I want it because it's always better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Sauce and bacon need to be doubled , otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I half the sugar, but otherwise remain true to the recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
5 stars- My husband is part German, I am not at all but he absolutely DEVOURS this every time I make it. On the occasion there is any leftover, it tastes even better the next day. This is divine warm or cold and can be served along many different entrees. Only thing I do different is double the bacon-actually I use a whole package. If you can get Hormel Maple flavored black label bacon , even better. Always use red bliss potatoes too. Thinking about this now and I want some bad....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I liked this recipe but I also didn't have enough of the sauce. It was dry so I made another batch and added it to my potatoes. I also would cut back on the celery seed. Just my preference. Would make it again but double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I love this recipe. I gave it 4 stars because as written it is a little off on portions. I looked at several of the other comments and decided to double the "sauce" and I used more bacon but that's just because we like bacon around here. It was perfect! We even warmed it up for lunch the next day and I thought it was even better warmed up. Be careful not to over cook your potatoes though. It's much easier to mix if they arent mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
As others mentioned need to double the sauce and use red potatoes so they hold together well. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Tastes EXACTLY like my mother used to make - absolutely perfect!!! Only changes I made were to use more bacon and I substituted the celery seed with celery salt because I didn't have seed in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWelton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
MMM, MMMM, MMMMMMM!!!!!! I made this for my family who loves German Potato Salad and they RAVED about it. Doubled the 'sauce' ingrediants because we like it juicy and I added a sprinkle of dill for some extra flavor because we have had it that way before. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States