Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Very good. I would use less vinegar and more bacon next time. Oh, and leave some of the skin on the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Compared with other hot German potato salads I've made and eaten, this isn't the best, but it still was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I used brown russet potatoes and used just 2 (which was not enough - I couldn't figure out how to "convert" 9 red potatoes to big brown ones). Probably 4 would have been better. The kids actually loved this, though the 11 yo said it was a bit sweet (surprisingly). I cooked the bacon halfway in the microwave and then the rest of the way in a pan, so only used about half of the available drippings (presumably). All in all, really good and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
My husband and I went to a German restaurant earlier in the week, and he got a side of German potato salad but I did not. So, when looking for a side to make with the small potatoes I got from our CSA, I found this recipe. I was roasting a pork shoulder, so I used the grease from that to cook the onions and added in some Hormel Real Bacon Bits instead of dealing with cooking the bacon. I used celery salt instead of celery seed. It came out so good, and DH said it rivaled the restaurant's. This is definitely going into the recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
thank you, just like my aunts... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
DELICIOUS! So easy to make and taste wonderful!! Use red potatoes and leave the skin on. I served this with Wiener Schnitzel from this site. The combination of recipes made for one happy hubby :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Delicious! I had hoped to recreate my mother's recipe that I remember and sure enough this one is it. Just the right about of tart but not too. Only change I made was I used apple cider vinegar as that's all I had. My husband said this recipe is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Absolutely delicious but very rich due to the bacon fat. Easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My boyfriend liked it but I wasn't crazy about it. I didn't like the sourness from the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Not a huge fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States