Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I just finished making this salad. If I could give it 10 stars I would.... this is insanely good !! I followed the recipe to the letter, I changed nothing. To me that is the only way to properly rate a recipe. This is PERFECT as written, omg !! Thank You !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Let me tell ya, I remember having to eat this stuff as a kid, and hating it....funny how your taste buds change as an adult. I had never made this before, but remember my Mother making it... I wasn't sure that I was on key until I made the sauce and it turned opaque..... then I knew, I had a winner. My Dad is coming for dinner tomorrow, and hasn't eaten this since my Mother passed away 11 years ago.... my eternal gratitude for a long lost recipe that Mom never wrote down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Good stuff Mainard! My only change was to use 1/2 tsp. celery salt & 1/2 tsp. regular salt since I had no celery seeds. I used fewer potatoes since I like LOTS of sauce. We live in a part of Texas with a large German population and this is as good as any I've had in various eateries. First rate grub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Gove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This is SOOOOOO GOOD! I had not had anything like it before, and have made it 5 times in the last few weeks. I do agree with PP - red varieties tend to hold up better and don't turn to mush. I also double the sauce, but it it great just the way it is :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
My dad really liked this, but out of the 7 people who ate it, he was the only one! I think its just because the rest of us who had never ate German potato salad before, desided we don't like it. I might not ever try another recipe for this again and just stick to making my regular mustard poptato salad. For those of you that like G. poptato salad, my dad said it tasted just like the last time he ate it at a German resteraunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Soooo yummy! I didn't have enough potatoes, or celery seed, but it still came out wonderful! Family gobbled it up! Made it twice this way, but can't wait to try it w/the celery seed! Not sure it could get any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was a wonderfully easy recipe and was just like mom used to make. Thanks for sharing. I added a little more vinegar and doubled the bacon...just a personal love of both. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlwichman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Delicious! All I can say. Only used 5 medium potatoes, but otherwise followed recipe exactly. It was wonderful, even my 3 yr. old daughter loves it and she doesn't love anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Very Very good!!! I followed the recipe to the tee. The only thing I did was diced my raw bacon before cooking. I don't really like German Potato Salad, you got to try this recipe, so so good:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States