Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this for a family picnic, it was a huge hit! I did double the sauce as I was reheating it in the crock pot the day of the picnic. Thanks, Tequila
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Oh so good my Darling came in to test it and when I looked back around it was half gone so I had to make more. Definately a KEEPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Best potato salad of all the potato salads. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
i was wondering if i could use canned potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vicki Lynn Tilton
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Added sausage, put in oven for a bit on low! Dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Lynn Tilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
At 7, my family was transferred to Germany. (Army Brat) I learned to enjoy food there. My first taste of German Potato salad was there. As I remember, the lady used cider vinegar and that's what I always used. I saw this recipe and thought I'd try it. Of course, I had to cut it down, but it was excellent. I did make more sauce and cut down the sugar. I read through all the recipes and this was the only one that looked right. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Delicious! I cut the potatoes into chunks rather than slices since that's what I prefer and then boiled them for 15 minutes. I also added some chopped parsley at the end and let it sit and absorb the sauce for about 30 minutes as recommended by other reviewers. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollianna786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I had a 5lb bag of red potatoes to use up and based on the other reviews, I decided to double the sauce ( there were about 10 regular sized potatoes, not minis). Well, it was perfect! I doubled the onions too, but not the bacon and it was delicious. I added the sliced potatoes warm (no need to peel reds IMO) and they soaked up all the yummy sauce. This is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This has become my signature potluck dish! I make it all the time and everyone loves it. I hate mayonnaise and fell in love with the german potato salad while living in Germany, this is the closest recipe I've ever found to it. I've made a few changes though. I tend to use red potatoes rather than russets. I also tend to use apple cider vinegar rather than white vinegar. The white vinegar is fine, but the apple cider vinegar just adds a little tang, especially as I use applewood smoked bacon. I love vinegar and found the original recipe a little light on it. When I make it for myself I swap the water and vinegar ratios. I find that is a bit stronger than most people like though so when I am taking it out I use 1/2 cup vinegar and 1/2 water. This isn't quite the same amount they say to use but it's close enough. Also I never have celery seed, so I've never added it in. Be careful with the flour mixture as it can bind up really fast if you aren't careful and make the texture odd but the flavor is still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Super yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States