Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I used a 5 lb bag of red potatoes a lb of bacon and doubled the sauce mixture . The only ingredient I changed was I substituted celery salt for the celery seed just because I personally don't care for celery seed. My family loved it! This is definitely a go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This is a great basic recipe for German Potato Salad. I could never find a recipe that sounded like what I wanted -- until I found this one. Very tasty and my family enjoyed it very much. I used more bacon than it called for, just because we like bacon so much. I didn't use the celery seed, but I will next time. I added green onion to it to make it look pretty. The only thing I would change is the sauce. We don't think there is enough of it, so I'll make a double batch of the sauce and maybe add a little more vinegar and sugar to it. Otherwise it is a very good recipe and it will be made often at our house. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Awesome and EASY! Test subjects were an impromtu get-together after trick or treat. I was confused about the size of 9 potatoes, but I used 1 large can of potatoes to save time, and I did not have celery seed, so I doubled the amount and used celery flakes. What a hit!!! I really don't know what the negative reviews are about. Flour amount was perfect (maybe they did not boil long enough?); not too much vinegar. I sliced the potatoes right into a slow cooker, crumbled the bacon on top of the potatoes and poured the sauce over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Very tasty! Though my 9 potatoes won't serve 12 people. Will use more next time and I'm sure there will be one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrissy2424
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Love love love this recipe. I have made it a few times. I always double it. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This recipe is absolutely amazing! My husband said it's better than any German potato salad he's ever had! I agree with other reviewers that suggest using small red potatoes as you have a more saucy salad versus using larger potatoes. The sauce is amazing and I often mix my less exciting vegetables like peas or broccoli into the sauce left over on my plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kirstenw05
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Grest recipe. I used a combo of white, red and purple potatoes (9 small total) and the rest of the recipe exactly as written and it turned out great. Peeling is much easier after the potatoes are cooked. Actually I did adjust the liquid - I did 1/3 C vinegar and then just added water to make it a cup, so only 2/3 C water. Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Wonderful as-is – I thought the amount of sauce was just right. I made a half-recipe for 6 people. Be aware if you scale the recipe on the web site to 6 servings, it did not adjust the pepper amount correctly for me – it stayed at the original amount. I used medium red potatoes, and substituted chopped chives for onions to make it low-FODMAP. The chives cut the cooking time down, and made the salad pretty. The kids all liked it. I served it for a German-themed meal with Weiner schnitzel, rye bread and “Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage” from this site. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe – it’s a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Great recipe. Added another 1/4 cup of vinegar to kick up the flavor. Overall excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Partee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal Clapp
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This recipe is amazing! I have made it twice the first time there wasn't enough sauce for me so the second time I used more bacon and it turned out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Clapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States