Hot German Potato Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This is a recipe we make pretty regularly. I prefer to assemble it a little differently though. After the potatoes are cooked set them aside (but don't let them cool all the way, use them while they are still very warm). Then cook the bacon and set it aside. Add the onions to the bacon fat in the pan and cook until softened. Drain most of the bacon fat, leaving a couple of tablespoonsful. Add a few tablespoons of flour to the pan and cook a minute or two. Then add the vinegar and sugar and bring to a boil till it thickens and pour over warm potatoes and sprinkle the reserved bacon over. Adding the flour gives the sauce some thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is so much like gramma and mom taught me to make as a youngster over 50 years ago....64 now. glad those ol' dearly loved and missed Ukraine/German women were sticklers over teaching the boys how to cook and take care of themselves...lol. but, I've seen some say it is too soupy....well, you add some extra taters, and cook some earlier than the rest, and mash them, and add, just like regular potato salad to give them a creamier mixture....and tho' it is not healthy way, gramma always added some of the bacon grease to it to add flavor...today we don't do it...mmmm rare occassion maybe, just to taste grammas way. don't be shy on the onion or pepper. hold back the salt. If gramma could only see the appliances and shortcuts in kitchens today for her noodles, bread, spaetzles, etc...the old days, all from scratch. and she hand cut her noodles with an old paring knife on an old worn down block of wood, noodle by noodle. No one could ever say they were lazy cooks....spaetzles on a sieve? hahaha. all hand done on the old steel grater. GOD LOVEM ALL..The traditions of the old ways made us the chefs and hobby cooks we are today..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I tried this and it turn out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I treat this like a mashed potato dish, boiling the potatoes until they're soft. I just mash them with a fork, though, so they're still a bit lumpy, which makes for a nice texture. I skip the sugar and the vinegar. I've made this dish with vinegar and without, and much prefer it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Whoa.......way too much sugar and way too much vinegar. Bacon was a bit excessive for only 3# of spuds. I used a Russett potatoe and this probably needs a new or red potatoe to make it right. I think the concept is there, but needs a thickening agent such as maybe a bacon & flour roux to start the sauce. Won't do this one again, but it did whet my appetite for looking for the 'right' one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I tried as is for the kids but they didn't even care for it.I still like my german mother inlaws version. potatoes, onion, bacon and vinager.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNAMICHELLE1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I make this in much smaller batches for our small family, and I use equal amounts of white sugar and light brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Very much like the recipe I use. I cheat by dicing raw red (unpeeled) potatoes into my bacon-onion-vinegar-sugar sauce. After mixing potatoes with sauce, I bake at 325 degrees for 2 hours. What I like to do is cook up b,o,v,s sauce freeze it and have it on hand so all I have to do is thaw the sauce and add potatoes when I am short on time. It makes a nice traditional dish to take to funerals. We are a Germans from Russia settlement and many my generation and younger do not take the time to make traditional dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menno, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States