Hot Fudge Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
WOW! GREAT! That being said this is what "I" did for our tastes. We love DARK chocolate sooooo.......I used the 4 sqrs. of unsweet. chocolate and cut the sugar to 2/3 cups and put in 2 Tablesp. of butter and used Vanilla paste....and my secret ingredient? Espresso powder (1/2 tsp.)....that's IT.....DARK CHOCOLATE SAUCE.....made an entire jar which is going camping with us next week. SO.....GREAT RECIPE and excellent suggestions from the other reviewers. THANKS ALL and THANKS Erin for posting this! By the way.....yes, I used the fattening cream because if I am having real hot fudge I am having the REAL deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nov111805

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Absolutely perfect. Mine thickened up nicely. I followed the directions exact EXCEPT using semi-sweet chocolate because that was all I had. We used this fudge sauce to make homemade peanut buster parfaits. What a fun way to end a Friday night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I used 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips. 1/3 cup sugar and 1 cup half and half (had it on hand instead of heavy cream). This stuff is really good and perfect! I put everything except vanilla in sauce pan and cooked on low-med heat (number 4 on my stove), until it thickened to desired consistency. Then take off heat and add vanilla. Definitely, make a double batch of this stuff. You will go through it quickly! Tastes like the kind you would buy in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Not sure about those who say this is way too sweet, I used all the called for sugar and still found the taste to be very mild. The texture was somewhat runny and I know that will be fine for pouring over dessert but I do like a thicker topping. This would be a nice complement to whatever it is served with because of its subtle flavor. It is a very simple recipe and as some have mentioned there is no problem with a grainy sugar residue. But,I will continue my search for the perfect hot fudge sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Braman-Duarte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is a delicious chocolate sauce, but not quite the "fudge" sauce I was looking for. We enjoyed it, nonetheless. I am giving 4 stars because the sugar being called for is way too much! I used half that amount and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Wow! This sauce is soooo GOOD! I used semi sweet chocolate so I only added 1 tbsp of sugar (for a half batch of the sauce). I used half and half to and only added 1/4 cup. The sauce was really thin (possibly due to my modifications?) I added 1 tbsp of cornstarch and cooked it for an additional 10 min. and it was perfect. Thanks SO mch for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Just what I was looking for!!! I added some light corn syrup for an added syrupy, as opposed to creamy, texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmottola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
very very yummy but I didn't put any of the sugar in it. I imagine if I did it would be way to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very good. Husband thought it wasnt quit sweet enough but I thought it was great. When refrigerated it becomes very very thing. Have to slightly microwave to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Very worthy of 5 stars. However, it's over the top decadent with 5 ounces unsweetened chocolate bar cubes. Velvety smooth and rich. 2% evaporated milk works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States