Hot Fudge Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I was in the middle of making a peanut butter pie and realized I did not have any Smuckers Hot Fudge Topping. I will NEVER buy Smuckers again. This is THE hot fudge you want, especially when using in a turtle cheesecake or peanut butter pie. I melted 1/4 c butter in a heavy saucepan (not double broiler), added 1/2 t salt, and then added 3-1/2 oz sqs of unsweetened chocolate because that's what I had on hand and the end result is chocolatey enough. I melted the chocolate on low heat and stirred constantly. I added 1/2 c sugar and stirred constantly to melt the sugar thoroughly before adding the next 1/2 c. I added another 1/2 cup sugar, but clearly needed liquid, so I added about 1 T of evaporated milk. I let the mixture just start to bubble, still stirring constantly. I added another 1/2 c sugar, some more of the milk, stirred constantly until the edges started to bubble again. At this point, I've added 2 c sugar and that is all I used. I added more milk, a little at a time until half the can was used. That's all I used of the evaporated milk. I continued to heat the mixture, stirring almost constantly for nearly 10 minutes. Do not rush this process! I removed from heat, let it sit for 2 min, then vigorously stirred with my wooden spoon. I repeated that process 4 times and let cool. I poured some of the fudge on the crust, then layered the pie filling, and used more chocolate to drizzle on the top. I have about 1-1/2 c left over. It's smooth and shiny and tastes fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: North Branch, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I substituted the butter for margarine and mine came out REEEEEALLY thin and soupy. I don't know if that's why or what. I think since others had the same problem with soupy sauce, maybe the recipe needs to be adjusted some how? The taste is good and i still put it on my ice cream but it disappeared into the melted ice cream didn't solidify like true hot fudge. I will keep looking for recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this last night and I have to admit I'm craving some right now. It's a super rich, super thick, chocolatey piece of heaven. This is the one time I simply could not give my son the spoon. I was addicted from the word go lol. I did make two adjustments however, I added a nice big handful of semi-sweet chocolate chips and I used margarine instead of butter. No particular reason for the butter switch except for that's what I had on hand. I used the chocolate chips to tone down some of the sweetness that was going on. This recipe is excellent!!! There's a turtle brownie hot fudge sundae with my name on it just waiting to be made. Good eats everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmeeks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I added about 2 rounded tablespoons of cocoa powder and boiled mine for around 6 minutes, stirring contantly. I didn't bother with the double boiler, I think that the reason some people had trouble with it being too thin and gritty was because it needed to boil for a few minutes. Mine was perfectly smooth thick sauce. I poured into a quart jar, and it was almost full. Thanks for sharing your recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
AMAZING, but with the following changes - decreased sugar to 2 cups and it was still WAY too sweet, so I added about 3/4 cup of good quality cocoa powder. I let it call come to a boil to get the consistency I wanted, and then removed for the heat and added a couple tblsp good mexican vanilla. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is a really good hot fudge sauce...if you do it right. I made it like the recipe called for, yet I also found it soupy and grainy. I put it aside in the fridge until the next day, hoping it would get thicker over night. Nope. Then I remembered making fudge as a child with my grandmother. She used to stir and stir and stir until her fudge thickened. So, I tried the same technique with this sauce and stirred it constantly with a wooden spoon for a good 8-10 minutes. It integrated all the different components and worked like a dream. It also made it seem less sweeter when thicker, though I still think you could get away with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Just made this to put over an ice cream pie....won't be doing that tonight! Too soupy...maybe it will thicken up overnight in the refrigerator. I followed recipe exactly...next time I will reduce the sugar. Too sweet for my taste. Mine did not come out grainy at all. The last recipe I made (different recipe) was very grainy. This onoe I did over double boiler and gradualy added sugar and I believe that made the difference. Very smooth and rich. Looks like it will be good over an angel cake. Not sure about the ice cream pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This sauce was grainy and was starting to get very thick with the double broiler method. I took it off and put it in a pot with 1/2-3/4 C of Coconut Milk. The grainyness disappeared on almost Med. heat in a little over a minute. I cooked it more to thicken it again. IF I WERE TO DO THIS RECIPE AGAIN, AND I WILL, I would start out w/ the chocolate pieces and butter on Low or extra low heat until they had melted and then start adding the sugar & swt. condensed milk. There is no need for a double broiler in my opinion and mine wasn't getting hot enough to de-granulate the sugar. It thickens fast. I think I only used 2-2 1/2 C of sugar as well. I used Raw organic sugar from my Co-op. I would turn it up to medium to dissolve the sugar and get the desired thickness. If too thick before turning up ad milk, I guess water would work, or Coconut milk. I get a brand called So Delicious at the Co-op. Hope this helps. It was a great recipe. No more mass marketed hot fudge with HFCS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is the best hot fudge sauce, ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Although the flavor was good, once cooled the solids separated from the milk giving a layered effect in the jar. Although it looked like 1/2 caramel, 1/2 fudge sauce, it wasn't and was not suitable for the gifts I was planning. Had to start over with different recipe. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States