Hot Fudge Pudding Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I misplaced my recipe for this dessert, so I tried this one. It's very good, a couple of different steps than my mom's (adding the milk & butter), but it still tastes the same. *I made this a 2nd time, only changing a couple things, and it came out even better, I think! I added 1 tsp vanilla, 2 Tbl coffee granules to 2 Cups water, baked at 325' for 40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This was awesome! I did change one thing: Instead of pouring hot water on top, I poured freshly brewed coffee. This made the cake have such a fantasic flavor. I can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This makes a fantastically rich,fudgey chocolate pudding. The only change I made was that I put in just under one cup of hot water, just enough to turn the sugar and cocoa layer liquidy and nothing more. The sauce that formed was rich and thick...just perfect for my tastes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
A little bit thin tasting because there is so little fat in it I guess, but this recipe was so good, especially considering how (relatively) healthy it is! I used the suggestions of some other reviewers and used brewed coffee instead of water over the cake mix; I also mixed some vanilla and almond extracts into the coffee. It seems like you could tweak the recipe any way you want in order to get the flavor you want - I'm thinking next time of adding some spices like chipotle powder and cinnammon to make it into a sort of mexican hot fudge cake. A very good choice for something easy to make and with lots of chocolate flavor. oh, and another time I made it I used a ruby port wine that I had sitting around - it made it fruity and richer and also left it with a hint of an alcohol taste. would be good for a christmas dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
We have had this exact same recipe for years with one difference. We bake it in the microwave for 10-12 minutes on high. I also add 1 tsp vanilla and about 1/2 cup of whatever nut I happen to have on hand. This is perfect for when you are watching a movie at night and feel like something freshly made, sweet, and fassssst!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyson
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This is sooooo good! I used brown sugar instead of white, lowered the water to 1 1/3 cup, and added a splash of vanilla. It's perfect with a little vanilla ice cream ontop and is just as good warmed up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hammondsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Perfect recipe. Exactly what I was looking for :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riceville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was just not good. I would definitely not add as much water as called for, but even without that, I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was delicious! Very easy too. Mine was perfect at 40 minutes, even though my oven cooks things very fast. I did not decrease the water- loved the amount of hot pudding/fudge this produced on the bottom. I added vanilla to the water (would have added it to the batter but I forgot). We had this with ice cream and it was gone in one sitting! My kids, my husband, and myself LOVED it! My mom made something just like this when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This is a very good recipe for a dish I've made several times before. I followed the advice of many reviews and added an extra tablespoon of cocoa and a teaspoon of vanilla to the cake mix, reduced the amount of liquid to 1 1/3 cups, and used coffee for part of the liquid. The sauce was exactly the right consistency, but I used a cup of coffee and 1/3 cup of water, and next time I'd probably just use half and half. The coffee adds excellent flavor, but too much will give it a bitter tinge. It's hard to get that chocolatey-brownie taste with only cocoa, so sometime I might try adding melted chocolate or chocolate chunks to the batter. Delicious served warm, this is a great comfort food for a chocaholic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States