Hot Fudge Pudding Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
My Aunt use to make these when I was a kid. It was my favorite and I was so excited to find this recipe. I followed the directions completely the first time and the puddling was a tad runny and just didn't quite taste right. It just seemed like it was sort of pasty. The second time I added 1/4 tsp more salt to 1 2/3 cup of water. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Took Ani's advice and microwaved for 12 minutes. Great for a quick warm chocolate fix, but it looked like a train wreck - good enough for the family but not company. Added vanilla to the cake mix; used equal parts water and coffee to total 1 1/3 cup and I thought the pudding was a little too thick -could be due to over-nuking though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
It's low fat and it tastes low fat- be prepared. I followed others' advice to add vanilla and instant coffee to hot water. Seemed like it had enough flavor, just not the richness I'd like. I served it with some canned whipped cream and that helped a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Great dessert served warm topped with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LashGal
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
mmm! this was sooo easy to make and came out perfect! i followed suggestions and added 1 tsp. of vanilla and reduced the amount of water...but i reduced the water too much (to one cup) and the pudding came out a bit thick, so next time I will probably use 1 1/3 cups. served with vanilla ice cream and it was really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B0nus
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Cooked it by the book except for cup H2O instead of 1.75. I thought it was incredible but dad thought it was missing coffee. I will add vanilla next time, I regret forgetting to add it this time. We (4) finished it w/in 30 min... so maybe a double batch next time. A+ I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B0nus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Not bad, but seems to be missing 'something'. Sauce is just ok. Needs to be more 'chocolately' maybe with semi-sweet chips?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
i found this too be a fairly good version of a favorite family dessert grandma has made for many years, the only thing i founf is i had too reduce the baking time too keep the cake nice and moist and saucey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I love this recipe except that I use less brown sugar to avoid that molasses taste in the pudding. I remember being disappointed by that when my mom would serve it when I was a kid. This last time I substituted 1/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 white for the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
The texture was perfect and it smelled great but the flavor was really bland. Like others, I reduced the water to 1 1/3 cups and added vanilla and instant espresso to it. I actually think that a bit of salt in the brown sugar/cocoa mixture would make a huge improvement and bring out the flavor of it a bit. I'm going to try it again with some salt becuase I feel like this recipe has so much potential but it is just missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States