Hot Fudge Pudding Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I replaced the water with coffee (I just heated up the cold stuff in the pot from that morning). I also added 1 tsp vanilla to the coffee. IF you make these adjustments, the chocolate flavor really comes through. Also, bake it at 325 degrees for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Just pulled this out of the oven and it looks super yummy. I did a little tweaking: 1/2 c white sugar instead of 3/4 c, made buttermilk instead of plain milk (per my favorite Hershey's chocolate cake recipe), and used just over 1 1/4 c strong Kona Mac Nut coffee in place of water. That being said, what I will do next time is use less brown sugar as the 'pudding' is almost too sweet (for me) and probably more cocoa powder in both batter and pudding. I baked it at 325 and set the timer for 40 minutes, BUT ended up pulling it out with about 12 minutes left on the timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Funny thing is I made another recipe on this site but I made several modifications and it was pretty much this recipe! I've been looking for this for several years as I lost my original recipe. I did use 1/2 Cup of white sugar since I didn't want it to be too sweet and I used 4 T of butter. For ease of making I melted the butter in the 8x8 pan in the oven and I stirred the dry ingredients to the cake mix in a bowl and then poured it on top of the butter added the milk and 1 teaspoon of vanilla and mixed. I added chopped pecans on top of the batter, about 1/2 cup. Then used the same bowl to mix the brown sugar and cocoa powder. Sprinkled on top of pecans and poured the boiling water over the top. I added 1 Tablespoon of instant coffee to my water and didn't care for the coffee I used. I will try again with instant espresso. Turned out great! Just like I remember with lots of chocolate sauce to ladle over the ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The water spilled over the top of the tray I baked it in, and it came out dry and lumpy, with a thick black wetness all over it, which was extremely sickly. It definitely does not come out the same as in the picture and was barely edible. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was a great recipe. Made it for a girls night and it was a huge success. It was great with vanilla ice cream on top. Next time I think I'll try the version with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativebydesign1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I really liked this, but had the same issue that many others did with the hot fudge layer being to thin. I did as others have recommended and only used 1 1/4 cups of water (which I added 1 tsp coffee granules and 1 tsp vanilla too) and it was seriously runny. It is a very good dessert, one that I will make again after some tweaking. This reheats really well in the microwave which is a big plus! Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was delicious! Very easy too. Mine was perfect at 40 minutes, even though my oven cooks things very fast. I did not decrease the water- loved the amount of hot pudding/fudge this produced on the bottom. I added vanilla to the water (would have added it to the batter but I forgot). We had this with ice cream and it was gone in one sitting! My kids, my husband, and myself LOVED it! My mom made something just like this when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My whole family loves this cake, it is one of their all time favs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
It's just OK in my book. Definitely too much liquid at 1 3/4 c. I substituted coffee for the water, which added to the taste, but it's still too soupy for my tastes and the flavor isn't exactly what I was looking for. It would be better with less liquid, but don't think I'll try to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States