Hot Fudge Pudding Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I replaced the water with coffee (I just heated up the cold stuff in the pot from that morning). I also added 1 tsp vanilla to the coffee. IF you make these adjustments, the chocolate flavor really comes through. Also, bake it at 325 degrees for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Just pulled this out of the oven and it looks super yummy. I did a little tweaking: 1/2 c white sugar instead of 3/4 c, made buttermilk instead of plain milk (per my favorite Hershey's chocolate cake recipe), and used just over 1 1/4 c strong Kona Mac Nut coffee in place of water. That being said, what I will do next time is use less brown sugar as the 'pudding' is almost too sweet (for me) and probably more cocoa powder in both batter and pudding. I baked it at 325 and set the timer for 40 minutes, BUT ended up pulling it out with about 12 minutes left on the timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Funny thing is I made another recipe on this site but I made several modifications and it was pretty much this recipe! I've been looking for this for several years as I lost my original recipe. I did use 1/2 Cup of white sugar since I didn't want it to be too sweet and I used 4 T of butter. For ease of making I melted the butter in the 8x8 pan in the oven and I stirred the dry ingredients to the cake mix in a bowl and then poured it on top of the butter added the milk and 1 teaspoon of vanilla and mixed. I added chopped pecans on top of the batter, about 1/2 cup. Then used the same bowl to mix the brown sugar and cocoa powder. Sprinkled on top of pecans and poured the boiling water over the top. I added 1 Tablespoon of instant coffee to my water and didn't care for the coffee I used. I will try again with instant espresso. Turned out great! Just like I remember with lots of chocolate sauce to ladle over the ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The water spilled over the top of the tray I baked it in, and it came out dry and lumpy, with a thick black wetness all over it, which was extremely sickly. It definitely does not come out the same as in the picture and was barely edible. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was a great recipe. Made it for a girls night and it was a huge success. It was great with vanilla ice cream on top. Next time I think I'll try the version with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativebydesign1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I really liked this, but had the same issue that many others did with the hot fudge layer being to thin. I did as others have recommended and only used 1 1/4 cups of water (which I added 1 tsp coffee granules and 1 tsp vanilla too) and it was seriously runny. It is a very good dessert, one that I will make again after some tweaking. This reheats really well in the microwave which is a big plus! Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was delicious! Very easy too. Mine was perfect at 40 minutes, even though my oven cooks things very fast. I did not decrease the water- loved the amount of hot pudding/fudge this produced on the bottom. I added vanilla to the water (would have added it to the batter but I forgot). We had this with ice cream and it was gone in one sitting! My kids, my husband, and myself LOVED it! My mom made something just like this when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My whole family loves this cake, it is one of their all time favs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
It's just OK in my book. Definitely too much liquid at 1 3/4 c. I substituted coffee for the water, which added to the taste, but it's still too soupy for my tastes and the flavor isn't exactly what I was looking for. It would be better with less liquid, but don't think I'll try to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States