Hot Fudge Pudding Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was not very good. I wish that I had not made it. I do not recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was just okay. I love the idea of the pudding forming under the cake layer..it's like magic, but this recipe felt like something was missing. I did add the vanilla like other reviewers suggested but somehow it didn't do it for me. Maybe more fat would help haha! Had this cake with a big blob of cool-whip on top which was a minor improvement but I don't think I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I was not super impressed with this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except using 1 cup water/coffee instead of what recipe suggested. It was still plenty soupy at bottom. I think the cooking temperature is off. I cooked for 45 minutes at 350* and the top was burnt. Still, my guest had no problem eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Excellent! I made it with decaf coffee and it was delicious, but would have been great without the coffee as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
A little bit thin tasting because there is so little fat in it I guess, but this recipe was so good, especially considering how (relatively) healthy it is! I used the suggestions of some other reviewers and used brewed coffee instead of water over the cake mix; I also mixed some vanilla and almond extracts into the coffee. It seems like you could tweak the recipe any way you want in order to get the flavor you want - I'm thinking next time of adding some spices like chipotle powder and cinnammon to make it into a sort of mexican hot fudge cake. A very good choice for something easy to make and with lots of chocolate flavor. oh, and another time I made it I used a ruby port wine that I had sitting around - it made it fruity and richer and also left it with a hint of an alcohol taste. would be good for a christmas dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I wanted a chocolate (made from scratch) cake that was easy to make, this one fit the bill wonderfully and I thought it was delicious! Made it for the family and they loved it too, I served it by the spoonfull in a small glass cup with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Delicious! I followed the changes suggested by LDYLVBGR of adding vanilla and 2tbsp coffee granules to the hot water.. So good when served with some cool whip on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Adore this recipe! I always use half white / half brown sugar for the topping, and it turns out awesome! FANTASTIC with ice cream--something you'd pay $6.00 for at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Yum, yum, yum, yum! I did tweak a bit per other reviewers' suggestions - used 4 tbsp of cocoa powder in the cake part, along with a tsp or so of both vanilla and almond flavoring and cut hot water back to 1-1/2 cups. This is going in the permanent collection. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This is a very good recipe for a dish I've made several times before. I followed the advice of many reviews and added an extra tablespoon of cocoa and a teaspoon of vanilla to the cake mix, reduced the amount of liquid to 1 1/3 cups, and used coffee for part of the liquid. The sauce was exactly the right consistency, but I used a cup of coffee and 1/3 cup of water, and next time I'd probably just use half and half. The coffee adds excellent flavor, but too much will give it a bitter tinge. It's hard to get that chocolatey-brownie taste with only cocoa, so sometime I might try adding melted chocolate or chocolate chunks to the batter. Delicious served warm, this is a great comfort food for a chocaholic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States