Hot Fudge Pudding Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Ok, so a week ago I made the recipe as written, and gave it 1 star. Watery and dull tasting. Tonight I just made a ton of changes, and they bumped it up to 4 stars. Still not spectacular, but good. 1. 1/2 teaspoon salt 2. 4 tablespoons cocoa in batter 3. 1 teaspoon vanilla 4. 1/4 cup melted butter 5. 1/2 cup cocoa in topping 6. 1 1/3 cups hot milk instead of hot water over top. I just heated the milk in the microwave on high power for 2 minutes. If I make it again I think I will add 1/2 cup chocolate chips to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Absolutely fabulous! I was snowed in without eggs but wanted something sweet. It was perfect. I only added a little vanilla. It was not too sweet and super easy. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very Yummy, very Yummy, indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Sky, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is the exact recipe from my grandmother's 1950 Betty Crocker cookbook. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I loved this dessert! If you are a fan of rich chocolate, this dessert is for you! I enjoyed baking... and eating this yummy cake!! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Wow. Total disappointment. If you like the taste of unsweetened chocolate, then this will do the trick. The cake lacks depth, richness and any body whatsoever. I will not make this ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This is delicious and just the thing for when you want a gooey treat. I added more butter to give it more oomph (4tbls) and use more cocoa as well. I also do the coffee instead of water thing, as many others suggest, and just add 1 cup. It is so so yummy, and very forgiving of these little tweaks. I often think of adding prune baby food to give it a rounder chocolate flavor, and you could obviously throw in some nuts or dates or something. I don't know how it works, but it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is really good! My teenage son requests it every year for his birthday cake. I double it and put it into a 9 X 13 cake pan. It doesn't make a very pretty presentation, but add a scoop of ice cream and you're near heaven! For extra chocolate flavor,we use Hershey's dark chocolate cocoa and I cut back on the water just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Didn't work for me. I mean, the texture and recipe came out, but the flavor was one-dimensional and too sharp. I think this recipe needs milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This did NOT come out well at all. I followed the directions exactly and it came out watery and tasted like pure molasses. I had to throw away the whole batch, even my chocoholic kids wouldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States