Hot Fudge Pudding Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Just pulled this out of the oven and it looks super yummy. I did a little tweaking: 1/2 c white sugar instead of 3/4 c, made buttermilk instead of plain milk (per my favorite Hershey's chocolate cake recipe), and used just over 1 1/4 c strong Kona Mac Nut coffee in place of water. That being said, what I will do next time is use less brown sugar as the 'pudding' is almost too sweet (for me) and probably more cocoa powder in both batter and pudding. I baked it at 325 and set the timer for 40 minutes, BUT ended up pulling it out with about 12 minutes left on the timer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Funny thing is I made another recipe on this site but I made several modifications and it was pretty much this recipe! I've been looking for this for several years as I lost my original recipe. I did use 1/2 Cup of white sugar since I didn't want it to be too sweet and I used 4 T of butter. For ease of making I melted the butter in the 8x8 pan in the oven and I stirred the dry ingredients to the cake mix in a bowl and then poured it on top of the butter added the milk and 1 teaspoon of vanilla and mixed. I added chopped pecans on top of the batter, about 1/2 cup. Then used the same bowl to mix the brown sugar and cocoa powder. Sprinkled on top of pecans and poured the boiling water over the top. I added 1 Tablespoon of instant coffee to my water and didn't care for the coffee I used. I will try again with instant espresso. Turned out great! Just like I remember with lots of chocolate sauce to ladle over the ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The water spilled over the top of the tray I baked it in, and it came out dry and lumpy, with a thick black wetness all over it, which was extremely sickly. It definitely does not come out the same as in the picture and was barely edible. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was a great recipe. Made it for a girls night and it was a huge success. It was great with vanilla ice cream on top. Next time I think I'll try the version with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativebydesign1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I really liked this, but had the same issue that many others did with the hot fudge layer being to thin. I did as others have recommended and only used 1 1/4 cups of water (which I added 1 tsp coffee granules and 1 tsp vanilla too) and it was seriously runny. It is a very good dessert, one that I will make again after some tweaking. This reheats really well in the microwave which is a big plus! Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was delicious! Very easy too. Mine was perfect at 40 minutes, even though my oven cooks things very fast. I did not decrease the water- loved the amount of hot pudding/fudge this produced on the bottom. I added vanilla to the water (would have added it to the batter but I forgot). We had this with ice cream and it was gone in one sitting! My kids, my husband, and myself LOVED it! My mom made something just like this when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My whole family loves this cake, it is one of their all time favs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
It's just OK in my book. Definitely too much liquid at 1 3/4 c. I substituted coffee for the water, which added to the taste, but it's still too soupy for my tastes and the flavor isn't exactly what I was looking for. It would be better with less liquid, but don't think I'll try to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This is definitely a VERY messy cake but it is very good with ice cream. It is chocolaty but it isn't rich like hot fudge as many would expect (still doesn't mean it's not good). It is like the Betty Crocker Warm Delights. Don't expect it to behave like a regular cake... this one is for those who don't mind getting messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States