Hot Fudge Ice Cream Bar Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
ok so if you like DQ icecream cakes - this is for you. My family liked it but it was not 4 or 5 stars. I did substitue 14 chopped reeses pb cups for peanuts. I would hover rate the hershey syrup pb connoction with 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Divas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I did read through the many reviews and since many said this was way too rich and my family doesn't eat a lot of sweets I decided to tone down the chocolate syrup, feeling 16 ounces was quite a lot. This is what I did and it was easier than the directions. I used a metal 13 X 9 pan and lined the bottom with the ice cream sandwiches, only had to cut one in half and they fit perfectly. Then I smeared a layer of peanut butter on top of them, not very thick, then just drizzled some chocolate syrup over that, added the peanuts and then drizzled caramel syrup and then the whipped topping. Then the next layer ice cream...and so on, topping with whipped cream and chopped peanuts and drizzled caramel on top. Let if freeze for about ten hours. This was such a hit at my Mom's 75th birthday party and certainly sweet enough. I used 24 of the cheap ice cream sandwiches from Walmart (2 boxes) and they all fit perfectly. The only change I'll do next time is to make sure it freezes for at least 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is the most amazing dessert!! We skipped the nuts, but everything else was a go. Our guests were amazed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
amazing! Wasn't too excited about thiz one after reading the recipe, bug decided to try it anyway because of review, and boyyyyyyyy am i glad I did! I used a smaller dish, so cut all ingredients jn half. I whipped some fresh whipping cream instead of cool whip, used Hershey chocolate sauce with chunky peanut butter, and topped with chopped reeces cups. My hubby went crazy ovrr this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I made this cake as written last year and felt is was okay but nothing special, thus a 3 star rating. I decided to try it again this summer after reading dozens of ice cream cake recipes - and incorporated some of the other recipes into this basic idea. The new and improved version is a 4.5. I made a home made chocolate peanut butter fudge sauce, used lots of chopped up salted dry roasted nuts (sprinkling them generously over the chocolate fudge layer) and made sure to use a deep pan to accommodate the layers adequately. I also put a thin layer of the chocolate fudge sauce on the bottom of the pan before starting the first layer of ice cream sandwiches. These changes improved the cake immensely in my opinion. It feeds a lot of people - a 13x9 pan can definitely feed 15+. You can definitely make this a week or more ahead of time, just cover very tightly in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
What can I say but DELISH!!! You would never know it is ice cream sandwiches! Got so many compliments and takes great! I did ours in a 9x13 and it worked great but would work in 8x8 for smaller families
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
too rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I do not like this desert. Too much chocolate, not enough ice cream for all the extras. I spent about $15 for all ingrediants. Did not set up in 1 hour. Was all mush. Everybody said about the same concerning the chocolate. Maybe cut back on chocolate and only do 1 layer or add an extra layer of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Awesomeeeee.... My husband, daughter, 3 sisters, and 3 brothers LOVED it and it was soooo simple. I made it for everyone for their first day of school. I added a little more peanut butter and also put the choc/peanut butter mixture on before adding the kool-whip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I use honey roasted peanuts instead. Mmmm..this is a hit at every party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States