Hot Fudge Ice Cream Bar Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Another keeper! I made this last year and forgot to rate it. I made this for the kids and a cheesecake for the adults and quess which one went first? I used hot fudge and spread that on before the coolwhip. I left out the peanuts because most of the kids aren't fond of them. I did serve chopped pecans on the side fot the adults, along with a little pitcher of caramel sauce! Talk about overkill! What a wonderful summertime dessert! *Update* I have made this several times since I have posted. I thought I would remind everyone that it's ok to "wing it" with the ingredients. Since I last made it, the ice cream sandwichs I use have gotten much smaller. It took 11 & 2/3 sandwiches per layer in my 13x9 pan. I'm sure we will have to adjust to the times. The time may come when there is no longer a "large" box of Jello (5 1/2 oz) or a small bag of shredded carrots. I guess I will adjust some of my recipes if they need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This recipe was extremely easy and delicious. I had to make my own whipped cream which was a first. It turned out pretty good. I didn't follow exact quantities, but it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This ice cream recipe is absolutely awesome- it was easy to make and looked great when cut into squares. This is something very simple and quick to bring to a gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Easy and awesome! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Oh my gosh! Tis is the most decadent ice cream cake you can imagine! Ands easy to make. It would be great to take to a covered dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This dessert has made it into my favourites folder (to make often) I am a big fan of ice cream sandwiches but dressing them up like this is even more heavenly. I didn't have chocolate syrup but used hot fudge sauce which I thinned with some cream. I also added chopped peanut butter cups between the layers for even more peanut buttery goodness and I finished the top layer with the fudge sauce first then the whipped topping. It looked gorgeous when I cut into it - like a layered cake. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was super yummy! Everyone liked it and it's a great easy dessert to make. I'm not crazy about the taste of chocolate syrup so I used milk chocolate instead...harder to spread but delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Made this for my daughters birthday. Everyone loved it. The grandkids thought it was the best. I liked it cause it was easy to make. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was good, but extremely rich! I think I would have preferred chopped toffee bits instead of peanuts, however, so I'll do that next time. I did follow other reviews and put the chocolate-peanut butter mixture before the whipped cream, and would definitely do that again! Be sure and let the individual servings thaw about 5 minutes before serving, otherwise, it's just too frozen to enjoy all the flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My family loved this! I lined a loaf pan with saran wrap so dessert could be removed easily. Then I used hot fudge, caramel, and Heath bar pieces after each layer. Klodike ice cream sandwiches fit 2 1/2 on each layer. Rather than Cool Whip, I used real whipped cream sweetened with a little bit of sugar and vanilla and spread it over the top and down the sides. After chilling overnight, I removed the "loaf", sliced 1/2 inch pieces, and spread over the top fresh strawberries which had been macerated with a little sugar It was yummy and served 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States