Hot Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Excellent recipe! My husband and I both LOVED it! As usual, I did have to make a few changes. Since I had no jarred applesauce,(I usually make my own), I quickly peeled, cored, and chunked 3 Granny Smiths and cooked them on low for l5 mins. with 3 Tab. white sugar & a dash of lemon juice (tender stage) and "smashed" them a little but did leave small chunks for extra flavor. This made a perfect substitute! My only canned peaches were sweetened with Splenda, and they worked fine. I did cut each slice into 3rds(fits into the mouth better). Could not locate 8 oz. can of pineapple chunks in my grocery store so used tidbits instead, and they worked fine. I had a can of "lite" apple pie filling in my pantry (impulse buy) that needed to be used so I tossed that in. The end result had a wonderful texture and taste! Next time, I will probably add a can of pear halves, drained and chunked. This would make a beautiful presentation at a holiday meal because it is so colorful! It does make a lot (almost filled up my 13x9 dish), but you can enjoy it in a variety of ways. I warmed it and served it with teacakes as dessert, ate it as a side dish, and will serve it over pound cake slices with whipped topping for dessert tonight. Also, it will be wonderful with vanilla ice cream. A delicious and versatile dish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This recipe is excellent; however, my sister-in-law is a celiac and cannot have glutens which are found in the pie filling. Simply use maraschino cherries. Drain the cherries and add to the fruit, reserving the liquid. Add 1 tablespoon corn starch to the drained liquid, mixing well and add to the fruit for thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Yuck! This was like school cafeteria leftovers gone bad! The mix of canned fillings, applesauce, etc, then served warm just tasted terrible--like having warm jello or something. I cannot believe I tried this recipe. I served it to me, my hubby, and 2 not-so-picky nephews. Terrible. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This is a GREAT potluck recipe to bring somewhere. I took it to my Mom's Club (about 50 moms) and it was a big success. Everyone was asking for the recipe. I am not sure why anyone wouldn't like it. It tastes exactly like a wonderful warm fruit pie without the crust. It is also actually pretty healthy! (Well, there is some sugar due to the canned fruit). The only thing I added was canned pears because I thought it would make a nice addition the other fruits. I really loved this recipe and would make again! I think it would go great over pancakes! If you are looking for a really unique recipe with great flavor try taking this to your next outing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
tasted bad, smelled wonderful. Kids and husband wouldnt get near it. Maybe I made it wrong? sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I tried this recipe for our church potluck and it was a hit! I put it together at home and plugged in the crockpot and let it cook during the service...couldn't have been easier. Next time I need to double the recipe so we don't run out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Hot and spicy comfort food. Easy to prepare--I fixed it for a large group and all ages loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMOM247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I enjoyed this. I brought it to a potluck and was asked for the recipe. It was very easy and stayed nice and warm in the crock pot. I will keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
I thought this recipe was great! It had wonderful flavor and texture...a real comfort food! It got great reviews at a family gathering. Will definitely make again. May drain pineapple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I made this for 60 and it went over very well. I used it as a side dish with chicken pot pie. The different flavors were great! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States