Hot Feta, Artichoke and Roasted Red Pepper Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was excellent and the only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is due to the fact I made a few modifications. I replaced the mayo (not a fan) with light sour cream, reduced feta to one cup, adding one cup of mozzerella instead, added one large crushed garlic clove, fresh ground black pepper, and instead of just parmesan, I used a parmesan/romano/asiago blend. I also broiled it for an additional 5 minutes to crisp up the top. Served with pita chips. I think next time I might add jalapeno to give it some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This was really yummy! I halved the recipe and added a clove of garlic, and ground pepper. I also added some monterey jack cheese as I had some that I needed to use up. This dip looked great, and it would look like a great Christmas-style dip if spinach was added. Personally, I would add a little less feta and more stringy cheese next time, but if you're a feta lover, go ahead and make this recipe as is. You won't be disappointed! UPDATE: Since I made this one for myself I wasn't able to eat the whole thing. I put the leftovers in the fridge and re-heated them the next day or two. It actually tasted better. Next time I make it, I'll assemble the ingredients and let it sit together for a couple of days. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
The feta cheese was a really interesting change of pace in a hot dip, and I'll definitely make this again. I did substitute half of the mayo with sour cream as I know from experience that much makes dips a little too oily, and with the oil-packed peppers it would have been even worse. I also used half feta and half "italian blend" cheese, and as the feta flavor was pronounced enough I'm not sure I would have been too crazy about two cups of feta. Marinated artichoke hearts seasoned the dip nicely. The red pepper pieces look very festive in the dip and add great flavor - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Delicious dip! I am only giving it four stars because I made some changes just to up the flavors a bit. I changed the mayo to 1/2 C and added 1/2 sour cream. I also added a couple cloves of minced garlic, some black pepper, and 1/2 C mozzarella cheese, and dropped the feta down to 1 cup. I took this to BUNCO night and it was a big hit! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I baked it for a little longer and it was so good! We couldn't stop eating it! I also exchanged the mayo for sour cream, and used half feta and half shredded mozz cheese and it was so creamy and cheesy, a perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
yum yum .....................
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Overall, the dip recipe is pretty good but I made a few modifications. First, I added only 1 cup of feta and replaced the 1 cup of mayo with 1/2 mayo and 1/2 cup of sour cream. I also added some sharp cheddar cheese, green onions, and olives. If you put the artichoke hearts into a food processor, you get a nice smooth, creamy dip texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I was unable to find the peppers, so i finely chopped some jalapenos, rather than all of the feta, i added 1/2 cup blue cheese crumbles...very very good. Next time, though, I will be more careful to get all water out of artichoke hearts to avoid a runny dip. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moyock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Great dip!!!! I only had 1 cup of feta so I added some Italian cheese blend cheese that I had in the fridge. I also, added some garlic powder and some onion powder! Will def make it again but use 2 cups of the feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I made this for our Christmas Eve party. It looked festive with the red peppers and green artichokes. I substituted a 12 oz. jar of marinated artichokes, drained and chopped, to give more flavor. It was a big hit. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I am sure it will be a family favorite for years to come. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States