Hot Dog Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
I loved it! Interesting mix of ingrediants. Tastes even better when heated up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
To me this did not sound like a very good meal my husband thought, how weird hot dog soup, said he would not like it, however I was really surprised at how good this soup did turn out and my husband loved it too!! It was very easy to prepare, I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
This received mixed reviews - need to be a green bean lover for this one. Luckily it did taste better than it looked. Suggestions were to thicken it up a bit... Maybe will try again and add a little thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
this is very quick and easy! when time is not on your side, use this recipe. kids will eat it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
If you love hot dogs, you will LOVE this soup. if, like me, you hate hot dogs and are looking for a recipe to make you love them - well, keep looking. This is a VERY hot-doggy soup! The soup base "sans dogs" is very yummy, though, and I think I will retry this soup using some canned flaked ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
While the end result was good, adjustment was needed along the way. 1) The main problem was that this was exceedingly bland; I alleviated this by adding bay leaves and pepper. 2) A 14.5 oz. can of chicken broth would have been too much; an 11 1/2 oz. can worked just fine. 3) Green beans are not the right vegetable for this soup, so I used mixed vegetables. 9 oz. was not enough; I used 16 oz. I'll make this again because it was simple and the kids ate it, but with the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This was okay. It was easy and I'm sure it would be good for kids, but it's not something you want to serve your friends for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marian
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Really easy to make so that's a bonus! Had a lot of hot dogs in the freezer and it's the end of the month so I decided to make hot dogs. Saw this recipe and thought I would give it a try. Only had two potatoes so I used some leftover french fries from the night before. Instead of green beans I used peas. Instead of chicken broth I used a bouillon cube (beef, chicken, pork) for a nice rounded out taste. Lastly, instead of tomato sauce, I used what was left of a jar of spaghetti sauce and a jar of salsa to make 8 oz. Those alterations might have resulted in a different soup than the original, but it was well received and I could see a child really enjoying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Wow, what a good idea! It was great. I replaced the beans with a can of peas though and also a can of corn. we all loved it. It was more of a stoup, and very filling in these hard times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
what a great Recipe a good kid pleaser and very filling. will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States