Hot Dog Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Use tomato paste and water instead of tomato sauce and broth...1 can of carrots and peas mixed instead of green beans...no onion or margarine...add sugar to taste...Italian seasoning, salt and pepper and any other spices your family likes..we use extra potatoes and hot dogs too. This recipe has been in my Italian family for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Just like my mom and grandma used to make! Everyone in my husband's family thought I was crazy! This was the only way I would eat hot dogs growing up! We always added corn and peas and I think my grandma added stewed tomatoes but I don't care for them. Super easy meal to feed a houseful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Hastwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Boonville, New York, USA
Photo by courtbake87
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I made this recipe previously before, and I made it again today. The first time, I followed the recipe to exact except, I added some italian herb seasoning to the soup. This time I used traditional prego sauce instead of the tomato sauce. I also used more chicken broth and I added some sliced chourice with the hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtbake87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
A good, tasty, filling soup that is simple to make and very adaptable. You can change the vegetables around to suit your taste. My husband and I both enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
hot dog soup is better with 1 summer squash and 1 zucchini sliced up instead of beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I never thought about using hot dogs in a soup. I didn't have all the same ingredients. I had a frozen mixed bag of veggies, a can of petite diced tomatoes, a beef bouillon cube and a package of wieners. I threw everything in a pot and boiled it up. Added salt and pepper. Very good. My first homemade soup too! Now I'm thinking of more different variations! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandusky, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Buchholz
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This Is Super Easy, And Totally Awesome..Well Make Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Buchholz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Made this couple weeks ago and my husband flipped out thought it was going to be soooo nasty but.... when he got home and smelled the house he actually tried it and loved it! And tonight he says to me, "remember that hot dog soup you made can we have it tomorrow? " and was so happy when I said i would make it. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I was a bit skeptical to try this out, but I had all the ingredients on hand, so I gave it a whirl. I also added garlic powder, a bit of oregano, and a dash of basil. Low and behold, this was pretty darn tasty! I especially love the soup base, yum. But I think green beans were the wrong veggie choice for this soup, and I love green beans. Thanks for the recipe, Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Not bad at all. A friend of mine' mother made this all the time. The sound of it turned me off. Until today. I had only a few ingredients in the fridge, I took the leap. I didn't have a onion or potatoes. But i did have a frozen bag of Potatoes O'Brien in the freezer. It has the onion, and potatoes. Plus green peppers. I just followed the recipe as is, except added what i had. plus the garlic, Marjoram and tyme (salt and pepper to taste.) and it turned out well. I will add that I only eat good qaulity Beef Hotdogs and also added a can of kidney beans to fill up on. Now what was a experiment to have for lunch, is now what's for dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States