Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I made this to serve with pot roast...had to substitute hot dog relish for the sweet relish, and rice vinegar for the white vinegar, but all in all, loved the result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
this was really delish! I was sort of skeptical about putting sugar and vinegar in this. But quickly changed my mind after I got to tasting it. I saute'd my onions in the oil before adding the rest of the ingredients. And used a No Corn Syrup ketchup and relacing the sugar with an alternative(Splenda). Worked out great. But stayed true to the recipe. Just modified to suit. I'd make this again in a heartbeat. Nice mild zing to it. You could easily add a few jalapenos to kick this up if you like it spicy. It would work very well. TY sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I love it and the hubby who rarely likes anything gave it two thumbs up. Will be a regular at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani_jbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Yum! I made this with a jar of chili sauce that had been in my pantry. It had the vinegar in it's ingredient list, so I omitted the vinegar. Otherwise, used all the same ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Great recipe... I love this hot dog sauce and sometimes I add to it when I am trying to make a chili glaze sauce... I use this plus alittle ground beef and chili powder, and a small amount of mustard... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I made this exactly as written. The real secret to this sauce is to cook your hot dogs and then put them in the sauce in a crock pot or simmering on the stove for about an hour. Then when you put the dog in your bun add some sauce. Nothing else needed. Yummy!! This is in my "Keeper" folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Great one , i made it in 20 mins .. super idea for quick lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktskrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I Made this all the time as a chid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I halved this recipe but added about 1/2 cup of vinegar and it turned out great. Good on burgers as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Cheesy Broccoli Puffs with Sriracha Sauce

Bring your holiday party to life with delicious bite-size appetizers.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States