Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
My husband loved this! I gave it 4 stars as I used all the ingredients listed at first. I added more chili powder, cumin and red pepper flakes as we love these flavours. I cooked the meat with the onions and garlic. While the meat was cooking I started to simmer the other ingredients. I did find that this sauce was pretty sweet. It could have been because I used Bullseye BBQ sauce. I added a splash of lemon juice to tone down the sweetness. I used a thicker hot dog bun and put a beef hot dog in the bun topped with the sauce and shredded cheddar cheese. I put it in the oven for 5 minutes to melt the cheese and to crisp the bun slightly. When ready, I put diced onions on top. All in all... Very tasty and definitely something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I used v-8 instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I don't usually follow recipes to a T but I did this one except I was out of hamburger so I used turkey burger. I was pleasantly pleased with the outcome. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was a really tasty recipe. The cumin was a bit much so I'll cut back on that the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I needed to use up the hotdogs in my fridge and my husband wanted something a little different then just ketchup and mustard on them, so I tried this. Big problem, I didn't have any meat. So I just made it minus the meat and...My husband loved it! He asks for this sauce (minus the meat) all the time for his hotdogs now! I'm not a fan, but then I don't like any hotdogs much. Definately making this often for my hubby, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I make a sauce very similar to this one. Never thought about putting the meat into a food processor. I use a pastry cutter (like you would use for pie crusts). Easier to wash than all the food processor parts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
You can't go wrong making this per directions; your unique "signature" rests with YOUR CHOICE particular flavor style BBQ sauce, your custom amounts of chili powder AND that size "pinch" of red pepper flakes. This "sauce" has American Cook Out splashed all over it---and can inspire one to construct their own fancy Hot Dog. I butterfly cut the Hot Dog franks; speeds up grill time AND doubles the amount of franks, so everyone has plenty to enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Very tasty! A great alternative to that canned stuff and very easy to prepeare. Adds unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Easy to make and it's ok, not a family favorite but it's ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This will be a staple at every BBQ we have this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States