Hot Dog Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Easy to make and a nice blend of flavor. I am taken by the ammount of sugar, though. Next time I wil cut back considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This recipe is same as what i make, but I do use 8 green peppers and 6 red peppers...use it in mac & tater salads, sloppy joes, barbecues, everything! It's been known to us as "Hot Dog relish' but we use it for everything and everyone loves it!! And while we used to grind by hand, now I use the food processor cause it's easier on the hands...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I grew up making this with my Mother and sisters! Great relish! I have had people tell me, "I don't care for pickle relish." But I tell them this is not pickle relish, its green tomato relish. They try it and love it! It's great warm and fresh or cold. I can eat it by the spoon full! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I didn't have any green tomatoes, so I used tomatillos in their place. Their seeds looked lovely in the relish. Also, I did reduce the recipe to 10 servings and next time I would add slightly less sugar. This was very good on a hot dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I have used a recipe similar to this for years. The problem with this one is that you put everything in a food processor. I have tried that and using a grinder and always go back to chopping by hand. A bit more work but the colors stay true and so do the flavors. Sometimes you just can't short cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I haven't yet made this exact recipe, but it is nearly identical to the one my grandma made for many, many years. I have her recipe and the only differences are that she used both red and green peppers (6 red and 10 green), a bit more celery seed, and cider vinegar instead of white. This is my favorite relish! It's not a dill relish, nor a traditional sweet relish. It has a taste all its own, and nothing I find in the stores tastes as good as this does, to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Unfortunately, I can't agree with the previous reviewer - I scaled it down to 10 servings but made this recipe as written, and I didn't like it at all. I'm not sure if it was the turmeric, the mustard seeds or both, but it tasted bitter; it was extremely unappetizing-looking too. Husband refused to even try it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This is my Mom's recipe. I use it in Macaroni Salad and it's wonderful. Substitute it when a recipe calls for a sweet relish and you'll be pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Black Onion Relish

See how to make the perfect condiment for grilling season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States