Hot Dog Noodle Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jen Pahl
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I added fresh sliced mushrooms to the sauce and used a 10 ounce package of Usinger's Weiners. Next time I would add more bacon. It was definitely different in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I used canned spinach, added some garlic, minced onion, and Worsch sauce, subbed sour cream with greek yogurt, and added some mozz cheese (8 oz). Used smoked turkey sausage instead of hot dogs (just using what I had). It was fine. Nothing that anyone will be excited for me ot make again, but worked OK for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I heard my husband screaming from the basement, where he was watching football with this dinner in front of him: "The best dinner ever!" It just seemed like a flexible recipe (not to mention "strange"). I figured a bit of tweaking wouldn't hurt! I sautéed a 10-oz. bag of fresh spinach in 1 T. of bacon fat (it's the only bacony thing I had in the house). After a few minutes, I added minced garlic cloves, and then a bit of German (Riesling) wine, Worcestershire, and cracked pepper. Placed in buttered casserole and topped it with 8 oz. cooked macaroni and diced Mozzarella. Next layer -- the hot dog/creamy mixture, topped with more Mozzarella. Baked as directed, but rather than use peas the last few minutes of baking, I covered the casserole with French Fried Onion Rings and served the veggies on the side. Did not expect this taste sensation, but it was incredibly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Photo by KaliC1313
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for leftover hotdogs and this was great! I made a few changes and the best one was using creamed spinach in the steam bag! Then instead of layering I just mixed everything together including the bacon bits and mozzarella cheese. It came out nice and bubbly and really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Made this fun recipe. It was quick to put together.I mixed the bacon with the spinach and topped it with cheese. Really good tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Alliance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
It seemed like an odd combo as I was making it, but it actually tastes pretty good, like a stroganoff with hot dogs. I had a lot of venison hot dogs to use up from my husband's hunting trip last year, which is why I was willing to try this unusual recipe. It's something different to try with hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
My kids went nuts over this. The only things I changed was french style grn beans as I had no spinach on hand and used ziti because had no egg noodles. Making 4 kids happy virtually never happens here, so this is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Thank you for posting this one. My mother used to make this recipe for us when we were growing up. I made it today for my brother's birthday. He was so happy! We didn't like spinach, as children, but would eat it in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvin Frock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was pretty good. It needed something else, maybe cheese. I used frozen spinach, as well as fresh spinach that I sauteed with fresh mushrooms. The taste was very light and fresh, maybe because of all the veggies in it. The flavors were not very prominent. I thought it needed to be a bit creamier. It was good. It is worth trying once, but I dont think Ill make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Really good recipe for hot dog lovers!Sounds a little strange but taste really good.I did add cheddar to the top.Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States