Hot Dog Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I had a lot of venison hot dogs to use up from my husband's hunting trip last year, so I've been looking for new ways to cook them. This was a pretty good recipe, especially since the venison hot dogs have more of a kielbasa texture to them. I did as others suggested and served it over a bed of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I was looking for a creative way to cook hot dogs - great recipe. I modified a bit. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and sauteed a minced clove of garlic prior to the other items, added 3 stalks of celery thinly sliced, used 1/2 red onion and 1/2 white and added 1 tsp of cayenne pepper - served over a bed of cous cous (was out of white rice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I have to admit...I am amazed at how good this is! I was trying to clean out my pantry and freezer before going to the grocery store and found this recipe. I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed, and I used red peppers. I also omitted the oil and used the low-fat Hebrew National hot dogs to make this much lower in calories and fat. I sprinkled a little Splenda over it to cut the acid and served this over brown rice. Not bad at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
my family loved this.I used 3 medium peppers i wanted to use up.I warmed up the sautee pan and started adding onions as I was still cutting by time I cut and added all the peppers I coverd the pan for a few minutes steam wich gave me more juice then I added the hot dogs and coverd again for a few minutes.I decided not to brown the hot dogs but to make extra juice so I could serve this over rice and it worked fine.I also added a few good shakes of creole seasoning and used good beef hot dogs.Thanks for posting we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Footnote: To make this a low fat recipe, use either low fat or fat free hotdogs along with cooking spray (such as Pam) in place of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Not bad for something quick and easy. I served this over a bed of white rice, and added creole seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is kind of like a poor man's jambalya!! I didn't have hot dogs so I used breakfast sausage that I mixed with the frozen onion, pepper and celery mixture. I used a can of spicy diced tomatoes. Mixed it all together with rice. Pretty good will probably make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
My mother used to make this when I was a child and called it "Hot Dog Slop". It's cheap, quick and surprisingly good. I like it best over egg noodles and topped with grated parmesan cheese. It's definitely one of those recipes you just have to try to appreciate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Pretty Good! My kids loved it so I'm keeping this recipe around! We had wayyyyeee too many hot dogs and we couldn't just have mac N cheese w/ hotdogs or hot dogs in buns every night! This recipe caught my eye and I gave it a try. My kids came back for thirds! A nice, simple recipe that's not over the top and a beginner cook like myself can do it! (I used frozen bell peppers and served this with noodles and veggies on the side)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgaCobra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fairmount, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States