Hot Dog a la Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Excellent! I give it 5-stars, not because it's such an amazing dish (I mean, come on, it's just hot dogs & potatoes) but, it's so quick & easy and has so much potential for experimentation. I only had brats on hand, so I decided to stuff my mashed potatoes in the brats & poured mushroom gravy on top instead of cheese. My whole family loved it! I thought the name "sheep dogs" (as mentioned by another reviewer) was very clever for this dish. Next time I try this recipe, I may try Italian sausages with marinara & mozzarella topping (i.e. the "Italian Sheep Dog") or sour cream, bacos, green onion & shredded cheddar cheese (i.e. the "American Sheep Dog"). As for the brat . . . well, that'd be the German Sheep Dog :-) Just so many possibilities, and tons of fun for the kids too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I have been out of town for a couple of days. I got home and really wasn't in the mood to cook dinner but I found four hotdogs in the freezer so I decided to make this. My husband wasn't excited when I told him what we were having but after his first bite, he said we definitely need to have this again. My son and his friend enjoyed it too. Not gourmet, but for hot dog lovers it is something different and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Very good, cheap, and easy. I used leftover mashed taters from last night, added some bacon, used cheddar as thats what I had on hand, and fried my dogs on both sides after cutting so they would have a nice flavor. I will totally make these again. I always have hotdogs and they were perfect to use up the left over taters and the true bonus was they were so quick to make =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Gee, I thought I made up this recipe about 30 years ago. lol I call it Hot Dog Special. I squeeze mustard in the dog before I spread the homemade (of course) mashed potatoes on it. It's great for what it is, an easy, kid friendly entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Really Good !! Quick and very EASY to make! We always eat "All Beef" hot dogs, so that is the kind of dogs I used, and it was surprisingly very good!! Best of all it was "quick" and "easy" to make. Kids and hubby all liked them. Made a whole pack of dogs for us four, and ALL where devoured!! I served with a side of baked beans and bisquits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
I was so happy to see this simple recipe idea... it reminds me of my favorite childhood meal, only my mom used kielbasa cut into 3 inch lengths. I can't wait to do this for my kid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Used left over homemade mashed potatoes. It was a great, easy dinner. My 15 year old son said "this is a little kid dinner". Exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I made this a few weeks ago, just looking for something different to do with some leftover mashed potatos. Everyone loved it! In fact, my son loved it so much, he requested it for his birthday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca DeVries Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This recipe is one that my late dad said that he ate when he was growing up. It's a quick and easy meal and you can use leftover real mashed potatoes or just make instant potatoes. I put everything on top at once and season it with onion powder or whatever seasoning I feel like adding, and bake it until the cheese starts to turn light brown. Remember to use a baking sheet with edges so the cheese can't drip. The hot dogs will be hot inside, due to the potato "insulation", so let them sit a few minutes before serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
What memories! As kids, we always knew that when Mom made mashed potatoes for dinner (no boxed stuff!)we were having hot dogs the following night! Fill a casserole with the split dogs - pile on the spuds, sprinkle w/paprika & cover all w/shredded cheddar. They weren't done until the peaks were brown! And the sides were always sweet corn, applesauce & bread & butter. Nastalgic comfort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States