Hot Dog a la Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This is a great recipe !! Quick for after a ballgame or just anytime. If you don't have left over mashed potatoes, I have also used instant mashed potatoes too and worked great !! Wanna heat it up a little?? I just made some with Jalepeno Skinless Smoked Sausage and OH YEA, they were great. You have to try these !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CONVERSECHUCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
interesting jind i have been useing this recipe for over 43 years.. and never saw it in print.. i first tasted this in the hospital in seattle afte my second child was born. FUN... AND NOW MY GRAND KIDS LOVE IT..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
The other night I was DESPRATE as to what to make for dinner. I found this recipe and WOW! My boyfreind told me he did not like mashed pototatos so I had a huge amount as leftovers there was just to much to throw away so I added cream cheese (cut in cubes and I used light) (light sour cream (about 4 oz. and parmesan cheese. I mixed that together and I used nathan's brand of hot dogs and instead of the american cheese I used a mix of parmesan and mozzarella cheese on top instead of the american (which I do not care for) and when my boyfreind came home I served this he just said wow, that was really good. this is a definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
My husband and I loved these for a quick dinner. It was hard to get a lot of the potatoes in the hot dogs and weren't good as left overs. But we'll definitly have them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This recipe is one that my late dad said that he ate when he was growing up. It's a quick and easy meal and you can use leftover real mashed potatoes or just make instant potatoes. I put everything on top at once and season it with onion powder or whatever seasoning I feel like adding, and bake it until the cheese starts to turn light brown. Remember to use a baking sheet with edges so the cheese can't drip. The hot dogs will be hot inside, due to the potato "insulation", so let them sit a few minutes before serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2004
What a great idea! I used kielbasa instead of hot dogs. I didn't have hot dogs on hand but did have kielbasa. This made a great midnight snack!! Thanks BP for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2004
we ate these as kids. always a favorite. we called them 'sheep dogs'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tremonton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
These were okay, i made them for an afternoon snack.I will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This was so easy and was a great added touch to regular hit dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I love this recipe. I added some mustard and diced onions to the potatoes to spice it up a bit. If you don't have leftover mashed potatoes, instant potatoes work really well in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States