Hot Dog a la Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
These were fantastic! I used mashed leftover baked potatoes and a combo of monterey jack and cheddar cheese on top. So good! My husband and kids requested this the very next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
so easy to make and change according to tastes and prefrences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I did not care for this. I think it would be better with polish sausge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I've made this a couple of times - it is really good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
AKA "Poor Mans' Steak" It is surprisingly good. I use all beef dogs or have even tried it with hot sausages for my husband's liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
It was a pretty good recipe, and I do not ordinarily like hot dogs. The roommate, loved it! And my sheepdog wanted his own little sheepie too, but we humans ate them all. I used shredded cheddar on top and before I put them into the oven, came out bubbly and good. I might try a little garlic in my instant potatoes next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I loved this recipe when I was younger. The only difference was my mom wrapped the hot dog in bacon. Sooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
These were different. What a great use for leftover mashed potatoes and/or hotdogs. I would probably try cheddar next time for a little more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
I always loved this as a kid. My husband thinks I'm strange, but I adore making this on a chilly winter day for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Excellent! I give it 5-stars, not because it's such an amazing dish (I mean, come on, it's just hot dogs & potatoes) but, it's so quick & easy and has so much potential for experimentation. I only had brats on hand, so I decided to stuff my mashed potatoes in the brats & poured mushroom gravy on top instead of cheese. My whole family loved it! I thought the name "sheep dogs" (as mentioned by another reviewer) was very clever for this dish. Next time I try this recipe, I may try Italian sausages with marinara & mozzarella topping (i.e. the "Italian Sheep Dog") or sour cream, bacos, green onion & shredded cheddar cheese (i.e. the "American Sheep Dog"). As for the brat . . . well, that'd be the German Sheep Dog :-) Just so many possibilities, and tons of fun for the kids too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States