Hot Dog a la Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I wasn't impressed with this recipe. Simple as it was, the taste was quite bland. Mashed potatoes just don't go with hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
When I was growing up, my Dad called it "city quail"! I always thought it was something my Mom made up...great memories of childhood and a tasty, quickie dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This was so easy with left over hot dogs since we're not big dog eaters. I used both jalapeno sausages and regular dogs and added chopped onion and leftover queso to the potatoes before stuffing. I topped with a little red pepper spice to give a little fire. There are so many things you can add to make each time a little different. My husband and I both loved it, especially with an ice cold Bud Light. We definitely experient some more with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This meal was just okay. I probably wont make it again. My kids love hot dogs but they wouldn't touch it. They picked off the potatoes and poured katsup all over it. It really didn't have much flaver and I could only eat so much before I began to gag cause of the texture. I wouldn't suggest this to any one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Cheap and easy ..thats what I love about this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This recipe wasn't bad, but wasn't that great either. It didn't taste as good as I'd hoped for after reading the reviews. Maybe I shouldn't use instant potatoes. I don't know that I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by MCPARKER
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was very good. I used cheddar. I also added some bacon bits to the potato and a little sour cream. My family was happy with the meal. This is very quick to make on a week night. Its very easy to make this your own, just add whatever you like on potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
What memories! As kids, we always knew that when Mom made mashed potatoes for dinner (no boxed stuff!)we were having hot dogs the following night! Fill a casserole with the split dogs - pile on the spuds, sprinkle w/paprika & cover all w/shredded cheddar. They weren't done until the peaks were brown! And the sides were always sweet corn, applesauce & bread & butter. Nastalgic comfort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I was surprised to see there was an actual recipe out there for something I thought my mom made up when I was a kid! I have also been enjoying making these for years. The only thing I do different is put the cheese on the dogs and then add the potatoes. This is soo good with a Nathans all beef dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Come on, it doesn't get much easier than this! I made this as a quick dinner for my hot dog loving, mashed potato fiend of a boyfriend. Topped it with shredded cheese. I've made a similar recipe from this site called Stuffed Kielbasa, which you might like if you like this concept. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States