Hot Dog a la Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This meal was just okay. I probably wont make it again. My kids love hot dogs but they wouldn't touch it. They picked off the potatoes and poured katsup all over it. It really didn't have much flaver and I could only eat so much before I began to gag cause of the texture. I wouldn't suggest this to any one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Cheap and easy ..thats what I love about this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This recipe wasn't bad, but wasn't that great either. It didn't taste as good as I'd hoped for after reading the reviews. Maybe I shouldn't use instant potatoes. I don't know that I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by MCPARKER
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was very good. I used cheddar. I also added some bacon bits to the potato and a little sour cream. My family was happy with the meal. This is very quick to make on a week night. Its very easy to make this your own, just add whatever you like on potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
What memories! As kids, we always knew that when Mom made mashed potatoes for dinner (no boxed stuff!)we were having hot dogs the following night! Fill a casserole with the split dogs - pile on the spuds, sprinkle w/paprika & cover all w/shredded cheddar. They weren't done until the peaks were brown! And the sides were always sweet corn, applesauce & bread & butter. Nastalgic comfort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I was surprised to see there was an actual recipe out there for something I thought my mom made up when I was a kid! I have also been enjoying making these for years. The only thing I do different is put the cheese on the dogs and then add the potatoes. This is soo good with a Nathans all beef dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Come on, it doesn't get much easier than this! I made this as a quick dinner for my hot dog loving, mashed potato fiend of a boyfriend. Topped it with shredded cheese. I've made a similar recipe from this site called Stuffed Kielbasa, which you might like if you like this concept. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Also Called hot dog float by my grandfather when i was growing up. also try topping with a little chili powder for a southwestern kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
yes, it was simple, but i would suggest a couple spices on top - it can be pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Really Good !! Quick and very EASY to make! We always eat "All Beef" hot dogs, so that is the kind of dogs I used, and it was surprisingly very good!! Best of all it was "quick" and "easy" to make. Kids and hubby all liked them. Made a whole pack of dogs for us four, and ALL where devoured!! I served with a side of baked beans and bisquits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States