Hot Dog a la Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Gee, I thought I made up this recipe about 30 years ago. lol I call it Hot Dog Special. I squeeze mustard in the dog before I spread the homemade (of course) mashed potatoes on it. It's great for what it is, an easy, kid friendly entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Yummy, comfort food! I also added sauerkraut and used shredded cheddar because that's what I had. This went over well with my family. I would make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Used left over homemade mashed potatoes. It was a great, easy dinner. My 15 year old son said "this is a little kid dinner". Exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Made these last night with Hot Links and instant mashed potatoes. Me and my roommate loved this. Adding this recipe to our bachelor fare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scalawag

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
These are always yummy! We wrap partially cooked bacon around each one (diagonally) before putting it in the oven! Just an extra idea for those of you that already like this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Grew up eating these, and now I serve them to my own kids. They love it. Not exactly fine dining but tasty all same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We used to have these in elementary school and it was one of my absolute favorite lunches!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Crump

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Good meal for a night in with the kids. After adding the cheese, rather than turning the oven off I broiled them for 5 minutes. They were nicely brown and toasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was a staple in our house growing up. I was surprised when I read the reviews that no one suggested mustard...you can't make a great Stuffed Hot Dog without putting a line of mustard in the cut you make. Then put the potatoes and cheese on it. Also broil for a minute when the cheese is melted, gives the cheese a great browned texture. YUMMY - and great as leftovers, not even heated up, just right from the fridge, that's my brother's favorite way to eat them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I made this tonight and my kids LOVED it. It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States