Hot Dog a la Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
We've eaten these in our family for as long as I remember. The only difference is after splitting the hotdogs lengthwise we spread them with mustard, then pile on the mashed potatoes. After that they go in the oven until the tops of the potatoes are a little browned and crispy. A family favorite!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Warren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This is a recipe that I grew up with and have made for my kids. I look forward to this simple lunch every time we have leftover mashed potatoes. The combination of salty hot dog, homemade mashed potatoes, and melty cheese is a winner. A little mustard on the side makes it perfect! As other reviewers have said, you can vary the type of hot dog or cheese to go with what you have on hand. Over the years I have made these in the oven, under the broiler, in the microwave, and even in a skillet. In the oven is probably the best tasting method but it takes the longest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Hot dogs, mashed potatoes, and cheese...what's not to like? Super quick way to use leftover mash. Not the healthiest, but it's hearty and wonderful for lunch on a cold day. Usually my mashed potatoes are pretty rich, so most of the time I don't even add the cheese. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
My husband has been asking for this recipe for years. I use "garlic" flavored instant mashed potatoes to give it a new twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TallPraireeChik
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
First time I saw this recipe. Been making the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Easy recipe, we call it stuffed weiners. You can use the packets of seasoned instant potatoes such as garlic or loaded potatoes, forget the american cheese, add cheddar and bake for 30 minutes. Add a little Frank's sauce if you want and it goes great with a salad and some Stouffer's mac and cheese...try some Frank's on the mac and cheese too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Correia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
"Pretty darn tasty" as they would say around here. Very good, cheap and easy meal to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is a recipe that I have used for over 20 years. For perfection, use jalapeno onion cheese dogs, garlic mashed potatos and top with sharp cheddar. This tip especially for the one star review that said it was bland and potatos don't go with hot dogs. This will certainly change your review to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sledgehammer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This is really good, cheap and easy. My 61 year old husband was one of seven children of a butcher in N.J. and his mother really needed to stretch her dollars. I'd never heard of it but found it yummy. I pan seared my split hot dogs first to get that deep brown crisp on them which really adds another, delicious layer of flavor. I also had to use shredded cheddar because it's all I had. I also used Idahoan brand four cheese instant mashies because I had no leftovers. Talk about fast prep. Regardless of my changes, you can tell this is a wonderful recipe open to your imagination. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Pretty good and tasty meal here. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States