Hot Cross Buns II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
I made this for the nursing home I worked at and everyone loved them. I also took some into work and they enjoyed them. I have never made hot cross buns before and found this receipe easy. I did sub all white flour because I didn't have the whole wheat flour. I hope more people try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
These came out very good. I substituted raisins for the currants and chopped dried apricots for the candied fruit peel. Also, I did icing crosses instead of pastry ones. I did end up adding an extra 3/4 cup of flour, although that may have been because I started with 2 cups whole wheat and 2 cups all-purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This is a terrific whole wheat flour recipe. I used golden raisins instead of currants, and I left out the candied fruit. These are easy to make and taste great, though they might be a little too sweet for some people to have with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
The recipe seems to work well, I might need to perfect my bread making skills a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
What did I do wrong? Followed the recipe to the letter, even purchased new yeast to ensure freshness. I am not a novice bread maker, yet this dough didn't rise after two hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I decided to make these without the cross as indicated, instead I used a powdered sugar and sour cream frosting. The buns are delicious! I like the nutmeg more than I thought I would! The candied peel gives these a taste of holiday bread! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I used whole wheat pastry flour and the bun itself turned out tender and flavorful. I had trouble with the topping. The dough was difficult to roll out. We ended up rolling each piece by hand but the crosses mostly cracked and fell off. I will make this again but use frosting or some of the dough for the crosses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena Alba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Fantastic! I switched out the honey for molasses, and added raisins...wonderful, hearty, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
my buns were not very good. my hot cross buns turned out to be deadly weapons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States