Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is a great hot cross buns recipe! I have two suggestions for making dough in a breadmaker: 1. Proof the yeast first in a bit of water and add a teaspoon of sugar. 2. Never add all the flour at the beginning, and never measure the flour! Here is what you do: Add all dough ingredients except sugar, flour, proofed yeast and currents to bread machine pan. Dump about 1 1/2 cups of four on top of the liquidy mixture. Top this with sugar and proofed yeast. Start the breadmaker, and let the glutton form as the machine mixes the mixture. As soon as the machine starts to really mix, start topping up with additional flour, about 1/4 cup at a time, until the mixture is smooth, moist, but not sticky. If you reach in and some comes off in your fingers, add a bit more flour until you can touch it without any sticking. This way you have added just the right amount of flour. Flour gets compacted so easily, so many times if you "measure" flour, you end up with thick, dense buns. This method takes a bit more "watching" but will always result in better buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This recipe was good. I tweaked it a bit. I doubled the butter, added a bit more sugar, added the other suggested spices, and did craisins because I live overseas and couldn't get the suggested fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Fabulous!!! Made this , this morning. The only thing I didn't do was add the cinnamon. But this is definetly the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Great recipe! Next time, I will make them without the icing because I found it difficult to work with and the taste wasn't worth it in the end (I didn't find the icing had much of a taste at all).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
These were easy to make and nice enough to eat but didn't have the spicy hot cross bun flavour I was hoping for. Very much a personal taste but if I made these again I would probably triple the spice and the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Just took these out of the oven for Good Friday and Easter. I am so pleased with the results - I made it just as described only added 1 tsp grated fresh lemon - other than that- PERFECT! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I had never had Hot Cross Buns before. I think these may be come a regular fixture on our counter. They were wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Speidel Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gackle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Absolutely a keeper! I'm an Asian and believe it or not I never even knew what a hot cross bun looks like before I saw the pic on this site! My hubby mentioned that his mother used to make killer hot cross bun and too bad he cannot find anything that good at store anymore! So, after reading all the raving reviews, I decided to give it a try! I substitued white flour with unbleached bread flour, used about 1 and 1/3 bags (2oz per bag)of active yeast, also added extra 1 tsp of vanilla extract, 1tsp cinimmon,1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1tsp fresh orange zest and 1/2 cup of raisins to the dough base. For the icing, I used 1 cup of confectionary sugar, 2 tsp non- fat milk , 2 tsp orange juice and 1/2 tsp lemon zest. The sweetness with a twist of citric taste, yum! I put the icing into the cross before the buns got completely cool, so that the icing will be melted into the center of the bun! It may not look that good, but really tastes better! My hubby cannot stop complimenting how great the buns taste! Thank you so much for posting the recipe! Big thanks to all who spent time sharing their experiences and tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
These are easy, light and really yummy :) I put extra cinnamon and added a little clove, ginger and nutmeg (because we like our hot cross buns tasting of spice) and used sultanas instead of currants (none of my boys like currants lol). Will definitely be making a ton of these for Easter ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielMac

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My family loved this recipe. Its the first raised roll I was successfully able to make. I've started making them every Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States