Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by MIKALA79
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I think this is a good starter recipe, but it needs some more spice to be like a true hot cross bun. next time I make this I would add more cinnamon (2 tsp), some ginger (3/4 tsp), a bit of nutmeg (1/4 tsp) and definitely more fruit - I did 3/4 cup of a mix of raisins, cranberries and blueberries - next time I'd add more like a cup and a half. I think a bit of orange or lime zest would really get this recips up to 5 stars!! Worth a try for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is my first time making hot cross buns-- delicous---I added golden rasins,lemon zest, allspice and nutmeg---I would sugest clear vanilla extract to prevent brown icing.....I wlill definitly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Excellent , in terms of the buns. The only reason it's a 4 is that the frosting is brown, not white, when you put in the vanilla as directed, so the crosses aren't visible, and the frosting is way too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These were very nice for Easter. I used golden raisins and everyone really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Really good. Made for Easter dinner. I only know of these from the children's song so I didn't know they'd be that sweet. We think they'd be a good Easter morning pastry. Kind of reminded me of cinnamon rolls. I used cranberries instead. Only took 15 mins in my oven and that was a little too long. So watch closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
exactly as recipe only used milk instead of the water, omitting the powdered milk....used craisins as my pantry dictated...bun itself rose nicely, browned nicely, used parchment paper, but dough was not sticky out of breadmaker....perfect....thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becca
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I made these for Easter. I had no bread machine so I had to make these by hand. I used raisins insted of currants and added orange zest. They turned out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PieKid
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
My husband asks for these. Just the right amount of everything! I have made this recipe with dried cranberries + currants and chopped cherries + currants, etc. Excellent recipe - thank you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieKid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is a great hot cross buns recipe! I have two suggestions for making dough in a breadmaker: 1. Proof the yeast first in a bit of water and add a teaspoon of sugar. 2. Never add all the flour at the beginning, and never measure the flour! Here is what you do: Add all dough ingredients except sugar, flour, proofed yeast and currents to bread machine pan. Dump about 1 1/2 cups of four on top of the liquidy mixture. Top this with sugar and proofed yeast. Start the breadmaker, and let the glutton form as the machine mixes the mixture. As soon as the machine starts to really mix, start topping up with additional flour, about 1/4 cup at a time, until the mixture is smooth, moist, but not sticky. If you reach in and some comes off in your fingers, add a bit more flour until you can touch it without any sticking. This way you have added just the right amount of flour. Flour gets compacted so easily, so many times if you "measure" flour, you end up with thick, dense buns. This method takes a bit more "watching" but will always result in better buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This recipe was good. I tweaked it a bit. I doubled the butter, added a bit more sugar, added the other suggested spices, and did craisins because I live overseas and couldn't get the suggested fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States