Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is a keeper! Perfect, quick & easy. I did follow advice about the cross though... Mix 1/4 cup icing sugar, 1/4 cup flour, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tbsp milk, and enough water to make a thick paste & pipe on after brushing with egg...before baking. They turned out PERFECT. We are on our second batch. And I used raisins instead of currants...don't think it would change it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colleen L
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I just made this recipe tonight & it turned out very good.There was a spice missing to give it that true hot cross bun flavour,perhaps allspice. I used margarine & raisins instead of butter & currents. Make sure to grease the pan generously or use parchment paper.I will definately made this easy recipe again once I discover the missing spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Lower on flavor than I had hoped for, and somewhat dry. Also, they were already overcooked in 18 minutes and stuck very badly to the bottom of the pan despite it being well greased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
These are very good. I have been baking my own buns for probably over 30 years and have had many good recipies, but this one has become my newest best recipe for both as is for Easter and without the currants and cinnamon and icing for plain buns for other occasions. I use a heavy duty food processor for mixing the dough and I let it rise in my oven with just the oven light on to keep it warm. I prefer smaller buns, so I make 18 out of one recipe, but I always make two batches while I'm at it and freeze most of it for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Great Recipe, but I am not a fan of the peel. I find it gives a strange taste..so I just left it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashathechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
i make the dough ahead and wrap and refridgerate them at the forming into bun part, i pull them out in the morning for it's second rise, and bake them fresh :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanessa
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
These were really good! I made them for Good Friday, and my family really enjoyed them! I made the dough the night before, and put the dough in the fridge. Then in the morning, I took them out and put them in the oven. They came out smelling so good, and yummy that as soon as I put the icing on, everyone devoured them! Yum, Yum! Will definitely make them again! Look at my picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
It is a pretty simple recipe, but I did something wrong, because mine rose the first time, but didn't rise the second time. If you want to raise this dough in the oven, what temperature and how long do you do it for? Mine kindof came out OK, but they tasted kindof bland and were a bit hard, which I'm sure is entirely my own fault. Can anyone help me here???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonnet116

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
very delicious and perfect for an Easter celebration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ewilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I've never eaten Hot Cross Buns before so I have nothing to compare these with but I thought they were very good! I would definately make these again. I did use raisins instead of currants (didn't have any). Like the fact that they were very easy to make with the help of my bread machine. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States