Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Very good, I made as stated and they turned out great. I had them with Easter dinner and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Very nice recipe. Turned out just fine even though I cheated and only made nine instead of the twelve. I like bigger buns...sue me! The only thing I wish I had done is add a bit of vanilla as I see now someone else did. Next time. Also, didn't have any instant milk and just used the water. Turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOSTCOOKINSWITZERLAND

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sly
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
These buns were nothing short of magnificent! I tossed finely diced candied fruit and currents in flour, (totaling 3/4 cup) and put it in at the last 5 minutes of kneading in the machine. For spices, I used 1 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/2 tsp freshly ground cardamom, and 1/4 tsp clove. I just added it to the flour. These remind me of the HCBs of my youth...Thank you so very much for this recipe. What an excellent product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
So, because it did not say until a bit into the instructions that this recipe is set up for a bread machine and I do not have a bread machine ...I had to kind of hope for the best with winging it. I mixed the first set of ingredients together holding back the yeast water and sugar part, which i mixed together in a pyrex cup measure. I had too much water so I had to compensate with more yeast and sugar, but only by a little (less than 1/2 cup too much water). I had no dried milk so I used vanilla. I had no currants so I used craisins minced with about a 1/2 tablespoon of orange juice concentrate and cinnamon. I added these after the first raise. Because I had a slightly larger amount of yeast mixture, I added about 1/2 cup more flour and perhaps a little more than that. In retrospect, after tasting them, I believe less flour is better for these. In order to handle them and get them into equal parts, next time I would roll out the dough a little onto a floured surface and then use a glass or a cup measure to cut uniform sizes of them, as my buns were not round but all stuck together in the pan and had different sizes. I used an 8x8 pan and that made them all run into each other, so not round. Don't frost them warm or else the frosting will melt and drip. cut a large enough hole at the tip of a zip bag so to get that nice uniform line, too small a hole will make one squeeze more and the line will do curlycues. they tasted beautiful, I made them for new years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADELINE D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Excellent! I doubled the recipe which I think was too much for bread maker. Keep same yield and will make a 8 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Great recipe. Used the bread machine. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Yum! These were great! Only tweaking I did was to use almond milk in place of the water and powdered milk. Just like we would buy at the local bakery - well - not anymore we wont! ;) These are too good not to make from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Great recipe. I don't have a bread machine, so I just made it the regular way, following the recipe exactly. They turned out delicious. Next time I'll add some citron and a little more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States