Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I did not like this recipe, but I did make some changes so maybe that's why. I usually don't like to review when I've made changes but I'll review this one. First off, the changes I made were no lemon juice or hot sauce and I added 1 T worcestershire and 2 t old bay seasoning, and I used 1 lb. fresh crab meat. I am accustomed to a little bit thinner, cheesy hot crab dip. This was not it at all. Maybe because I used too much crab meat this was thicker and tasted of mustard. I did not like this at all and the comments it got was that it tasted "crabby" and then no one touched it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
So easy to make and so rich and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
If you want to really taste the crab meat, use 4 oz of cc, 2 Tbs of mayo & 16 oz can of special crab. Also add garlic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
It was fast and easy to make. I made it without the lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce or hot sauce simply because I didn't want to run to the store. It tasted fine, I would eat it again. Next time I would put miracle whip instead. It tasted a little bit eggy to me. My friends all seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lx_andrews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Very good as written. Much better with someone's suggestion of dry mustard = Worcester sauce, plus a healthy dump of black pepper. Definitely use sharp cheddar, and next time it could use some fresh chives or sauteed shallots. And less mayo - about half. I made a half recipe (20 servings), and it was about half deep in a shallot 9" pie plate. 4 of us ate it for dinner on crackers w/ veggie. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
It was decent for what it is. I messed around with the ingredients but still didn't really care for it. We used imitation crab so maybe that had to do with it? my 5yo loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I really love this recipe, but I did tweek it some. Not a huge fan of hot sauce so I omitted it and added about 2 tsp of Old Bay Seasoning and garlic powder. And also sprinkled some extra sharp cheddar on the top before baking. Came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I tried this recipe and followed another person's suggestion, using only 1/2 the amount of cream cheese and I substituted 2 tsp of old bay for the hot sauce and paprika. It was excellent!!! I will make it over and over again I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I added a tbsp of minced garlic and 4 chopped scallions, and used Old Bay instead of paprika. I almost feel like it could have used a touch of salt. This was okay when warm, straight out of the oven, but it was much better after it had cooled to room temperature and then the next day. After the flavors had melded, it was awesome. This is a dip you want to serve on water crackers or toasted baguette slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Husband loved it! I only made one change since i didn't have just cheddar, i shredded a block of cheddar/monteray jack and jalapeono pepper cheese! Not too spicy, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States