Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This is the only crab dip I have found that is some what similar to mine. My measurements differ and has some additions. Everyone goes nuts over this: 1 small can crab meat drained, 1- 8oz. pkg. cream cheese softened, 1 c. mayonaise.( I think you could cut that in half if fat conscious, but I don't think it would be as creamy.) Can add 1/2 cup minced onion, but I never do. Also, 1 T.lemon juice, 1/2 c. grated cheddar, 1/4 tsp. dry mustard, 1 tsp. worcestershire sauce. Mix all together into pie plate. Bake 350 for 30 min. You can also use 1-6oz. pkg. frozen crab meat thawed in place of canned. You can also add a can of tiny shrimp or sprinkle slivered almonds on top before baking. Serve with a nice butter cracker for spreading. This is our favorite crab dip made this way. I gave it 5 stars cuz it is similar to this dip with some changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Excellent appetizer. Left-overs were even great. Simply reheat in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
This was ok. Nothing special, really. I doubled the crab in the recipe, and added a bit more hot sauce, but it was still a bit bland. My husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I made this quick and easy crab dip for about 200 people at my church. It was easy with the recipe scale. That was 1 month ago. They are still asking for crab dip. They loved it. Thanks allrecipes.com--keep the recipes coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This recipe sounded good on paper so I tried it out for a Thanksgiving snack. I substituted fresh crab for the canned crab and wasted my money. The consistency was unappetizing and the overall taste didn't mesh. The only person who ate it and liked it was my Dad and he'll eat anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I made this for a party of 20 people yesterday, just cut the recipe in half. It was a huge success and I indend to make a over the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
I found the dip lacked flavor, I would try cutting the amount of cream cheese in half and adding horseradish and Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
I halved the quantity as I was only making it for Saturday afternoon nibbles for the family, but it turned out great. I couldn't figure out what the Aussie equivalent of hot sauce was so I just added a bit of Peri Peri sauce. Will make it next time in a bread bowl, would be great for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
Addictive. Best dip I have ever eaten, and I do not really even like crab. Make sure to use sharp cheddar and a bit more hot sauce than the recipe listed. If you use mild cheddar, the dip will not have enough flavor. I also used imitation crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
I am not sure the amount of worchester sauce was correct. It seem like 2 tb is way too much. I used 2 tsp and it was plenty. The mixture comes out very thick, it could be thinned out with some milk I think. It makes quite a large batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States