Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was a huge hit at my New Year's Eve party. I used 13 oz frozen imitation crab meat that I chopped. I also used one regular cream cheese and one sour cream and chive flavor. I did not add the hot sauce and cut down on the mayo as others suggested. I was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this recipe for a New Year's party and it was excellent. I used 16oz of real crabmeat instead of the recommended 12 oz and it turned out great. Next time I may sprinkle Old Bay on the top instead of paprika. I baked it in the oven and then transfered it to a crock pot to keep it hot for the party and it seemed to get more and more flavor as it sat. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Next time I'll use jumbo lump crab meat and little less cream cheese. I also thought it was a little bland so I added garlic powder and Old Bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
this was a good base, but I just don't think canned crab meat is for me. I bought canned "lump crab meat" and I got the name brand kind, just because I thought it would be tastier, and it was just too fishy and sort of had a fishy smell to it. It also was canned with water, so it had like a squishy water texture going on... it was odd. Maybe I bought the wrong kind of crab? I know it wasn't expired... I think if I used fresh crab meat this would have been awesome, because the cream cheese base was very good. I'll have to give it another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I love this dip it is easy and all my guest love it. I make it everytime I have a get together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Good solid recipe, one of the most sought after appetizers on the Thanksgiving table - but I didn't hear any rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Very easy to make and so delicious! Very easy to reheat leftovers, too. This recipe makes a lot. I used the canned crab for convenience and got rave reviews. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Good basic dip, I definitely added my own touches. The only trouble is that once it starts to cool it is no good, so if you want to have it for more than half an hour, make it in several small dishes (it keeps just fine in the fridge before it is baked)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Loved it and so did the Football crowd! I used just one more teaspoon of hot sauce and it gave it just a perfect little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
AWESOME RECIPE! I made this for a "end of summer" party. GREAT HIT!! Now I am being requested to bring this to all the holiday parties... Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olney, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States