Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
This was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good! The only difference I did was put in 4 tbsp of mayo and 2 cloves of garlic (minced). I used medium cheddar cheese in my recipe also. I will definetely make this crab dip from now on, this is the 3rd one I've tried off of allrecipes.com and it's been the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This is the only crab dip I have found that is some what similar to mine. My measurements differ and has some additions. Everyone goes nuts over this: 1 small can crab meat drained, 1- 8oz. pkg. cream cheese softened, 1 c. mayonaise.( I think you could cut that in half if fat conscious, but I don't think it would be as creamy.) Can add 1/2 cup minced onion, but I never do. Also, 1 T.lemon juice, 1/2 c. grated cheddar, 1/4 tsp. dry mustard, 1 tsp. worcestershire sauce. Mix all together into pie plate. Bake 350 for 30 min. You can also use 1-6oz. pkg. frozen crab meat thawed in place of canned. You can also add a can of tiny shrimp or sprinkle slivered almonds on top before baking. Serve with a nice butter cracker for spreading. This is our favorite crab dip made this way. I gave it 5 stars cuz it is similar to this dip with some changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I've made this recipe twice so far, to many great reviews. Although, I did make a few changes. I followed a few suggestions that I had read before. I only used half of the amount of cream cheese (this happened the first time because I didn't have enough)and half the amount of cheddar cheese. Instead of paprika and hot sauce, I used about 1.5 - 2 tsp Old Bay seasoning. Then, I seerved it up with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Made as is, it's average. It's fast, easy, and looks nice, but if you want something with more flavor you need to add more to it. First I think it could use more crab, and then add other ingrediants such as: garlic, artichoke hearts, green onions, diced green chilies, parmesan, and/or pimentos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
It was a good recipe (did it for 10 servings) But, I took the advice of previous reviewers and added 2 cloves of minced Garlic (instead of hot sauce), 1 tsp. Old Bay seasoning (replacing dried mustard), added one can of tiny Shrimp, I used 2% Milk colby/Jack cheese (it melts better than cheddar) putting some on top and used 1 cup of Mayo. I did however substituted Lite Mayo and Lite Cream Cheese cutting the calories. It was delicious, and everyone loved it. It's good with tollhouse crackers and tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I'm writing to tell anyone who's considering making this dip, DON'T DO IT! It smelled awful while it was baking, which should have been my first clue. Even the cat didn't come around the kitchen. I had to work Christmas and this was going to be my contribution for our unit's party. I was hesitant, but I hoped the dip would taste better than it smelled. Where I work, the doctors and nurses would probably eat a bowl filled with grass clippings and twigs if you put salad dressing on it. No one touched this stuff... What a waste of some expensive ingredients. I'm only giving this one star because I can't give it ZERO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
Addictive. Best dip I have ever eaten, and I do not really even like crab. Make sure to use sharp cheddar and a bit more hot sauce than the recipe listed. If you use mild cheddar, the dip will not have enough flavor. I also used imitation crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened 4 tablespoons mayonnaise 2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese 2 (6 ounce) cans crabmeat 1 1/2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice 2 teaspoons hot sauce 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce paprika, for garnish It was very good, my only problem was the amount of cream cheese. It seemed that's all you could taste.. Put me off cream cheese for a couple days :( The only things I did different were I used fresh crab meat and instead of paprika I used old bay's (which was really good!) And I ate most of the dip so it couldn't have been that bad ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmisstiffanyy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I thought this was excellent but I used Velveeta cheese instead of the cheddar and salad dressing in place of the mayo. I used my own judgment on the amount of ingredients to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKANEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Skanee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I made this for my family at thanksgiving. Whats reaaly great about it is it only takes minutes to make. I added a little more crab meat just because my gang loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandas cookin mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitman, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States