Hot Crab and Jalapeno Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
We thought this was fantastic. I made it as an appetizer, and we nearly skipped the main course. I even used fake crab-meat. I also went a little heavy on the hot peppers which tunred out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
The jalapeno is a welcome twist to the standard crab/artichoke dip. Everyone at the party agreed. I tried it with and without the jalapenos and both were great, so if you're not into spicy, leave them out and it's still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
A little disappointing. It wasn’t very spicy, would suggest doubling the jalapeno peppers. To be honest we will probably never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Wonderful recipe! I doubled the amount of jalapenos to give it an extra "kick" and it was HUGE hit at my latest party. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I don't know if I made it incorrectly but it was very oily and did not taste good. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This recipe was good, but I altered it a bit. Instead of parmesean & fresh pepper, I used shredded monteray jack & cheddar and roasted red peppers. I also omitted the almonds. It is a bit oily when it comes out of the oven, but you just need to dab up the puddles of oil with a napkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Absolutely needs the jalapenos doubled. I used 1/4 cup walnuts and mixed them right in instead of sprinkling on top. I also used the roasted red pepper instead of oil and a fresh one as another reviewer suggested. Good suggestion! I baked this in 3 Corning Wear big ramekins and it was wonderful. They were not oily on top at all as some others had problems with. Could it be that the oil went around all the dishes instead of just one? This is a good sized recipe because I kept one dish for my husband and myself and took the others to a cocktail party with some plain crackers, so the crackers would not fight the flavors of the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I have made this a few times always to rave reviews. I'm not crazy about mayo in hot dips so I substitute 8 ounces of softened cream cheese (regular or reduced fat). It makes it more substantial. I also use 1-2 fresh chopped jalapenos as we like very spicy foods. Great dip though and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I only gave four stars since I changed it up but it was delicious! I wanted more of a fondue type dip though instead of so thick so I added fontina cheese and just a bit of cream cheese and milk to help make smooth. I served in the fondue pot with chunks of toasty French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made this for a party and it was a big hit. I like spicier food so I added more jalapenos and a little Cayenne pepper. The sliced almonds on top were a welcome twist from the crab dips I am used to having. The host of the party asked for the recipe and mentioned something she was going to try that I want to try now myself. She is going to use shredded shrimp instead of crab or with the crab meat to give it a twist! Sounded good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States