Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I made this recipe and cut it in half. However, it has a very bitter taste. I have to add sweetener and make it with milk instead of water to tone it down so my kids will drink it. I am not sure what happened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is a great hot cocoa recipe that's easy to make with ingredients that are easily found in any grocery store. Obviously, you can "spice it up" by adding all kinds of different ingredients, but if you just want a basic, easy-to-make cocoa recipe, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Missouri, USA
Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My kids love chocolatey hot cocoa so I added 6 cups of cocoa and an additional 1 & 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. I ran everything through the food processor and it made the smoothest, richest cocoa ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Good, but does need more sugar. Easy fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I used to help out with the FFA concession stand at high school football games. We made large quantities of this recipe and just added the water when someone ordered. It was sold out at almost every game, even the early games when the temperature was in the high 60's. Try it with some strong coffee and blend with ice to make a "frappacino" type drink. You could also add some ice cream in the blender for something even sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is the beginnings of great cocoa. My family always uses Nestle Choc milk powder, non-dairy creamer, powdered sugar and powdered milk. I have found that you need to buy the best you can get, i.e. brand names, or the best tasting to you, ingredients. Especially of the powdered milk. Personally we like the milkman or carnation brands. I would NOT buy store brand, unless you like it. Also, this recipe needs to be adjusted for personal sweet, chocolate and creaminess taste. Write it down once you've got it, because you will never want to go back to packets again! Oh, and don't skimp on the mix to water or milk ratio. Enjoy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was a hit with my children & their friends that range in age from 12 to 22!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moitle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This stuff was amazing! I cut the recipe in half, and it still made a ton! Even though there is dry milk in the mix, I still mixed it with hot milk and it made the creamiest, dreamiest hot cocoa I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I scaled this back to make only 2 portions so that I could try it before investing in making such a large amount. Please note that in place of the confectioners sugar I used Splenda, as I'm diabetic. This, however, had no effect on the taste, which was overwhelmingly dominated by the unpleasant flavor of powdered milk. I'm not sure there's any way to get around this, since it's the main ingredient. As it stands, I'd much rather have the just-add-water packets made by Swiss Miss, which has a far superior flavor to this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
The cocoa powder was overpowering. I made 3 servings to try before I used it in hot chocolate cones, but I was not impressed. Once I added an extra teaspoon of powdered sugar (per cup), it was better, but it's not something that I or my tasters will be repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States