Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My brother is serving in Afghanistan and I wanted to send him something that would warm him up now the weather has turned colder there. I made up a batch, adding a few little extras (finely chopped chocolate drops and a dash of chocolate nesquick milkshake) and was very pleasantly surprised. The flavour is lovely and chocolatey, ideal for making as a gift. I am sure my brother will love it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Chaplin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I used 1/2 cup more cocoa mix and this turned out very good. Its great for the kids. Not too, too sweet but not bland either. Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This cocoa was too watery for me. I like a richer, creamier, chocolatier cocoa. Increasing the amount of mix used per cup might help some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I made this recipe and cut it in half. However, it has a very bitter taste. I have to add sweetener and make it with milk instead of water to tone it down so my kids will drink it. I am not sure what happened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is a great hot cocoa recipe that's easy to make with ingredients that are easily found in any grocery store. Obviously, you can "spice it up" by adding all kinds of different ingredients, but if you just want a basic, easy-to-make cocoa recipe, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Missouri, USA
Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My kids love chocolatey hot cocoa so I added 6 cups of cocoa and an additional 1 & 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. I ran everything through the food processor and it made the smoothest, richest cocoa ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Good, but does need more sugar. Easy fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I used to help out with the FFA concession stand at high school football games. We made large quantities of this recipe and just added the water when someone ordered. It was sold out at almost every game, even the early games when the temperature was in the high 60's. Try it with some strong coffee and blend with ice to make a "frappacino" type drink. You could also add some ice cream in the blender for something even sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is the beginnings of great cocoa. My family always uses Nestle Choc milk powder, non-dairy creamer, powdered sugar and powdered milk. I have found that you need to buy the best you can get, i.e. brand names, or the best tasting to you, ingredients. Especially of the powdered milk. Personally we like the milkman or carnation brands. I would NOT buy store brand, unless you like it. Also, this recipe needs to be adjusted for personal sweet, chocolate and creaminess taste. Write it down once you've got it, because you will never want to go back to packets again! Oh, and don't skimp on the mix to water or milk ratio. Enjoy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was a hit with my children & their friends that range in age from 12 to 22!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moitle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States