Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Reminds me of the hot cocoa my Mom made when I was little. Glad I am giving them as gifts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I was excited about this... the 6 of us can go through boxes of cocoa like nothing when it's cold outside. So I tried it out, made a 1/2 batch according to another reviewers modifications... 5c milk (ran through processer to finish powdering it) 3c powdered sugar, 1 1/2c cocoa and 1c creamer. I will say that I love the idea and want to tweak with the flavors and types of ingredients. I used generic and have to say I was left with an odd aftertaste... probably due to powedered milk as stated in other reviews... but thought maybe it could alsom be my creamer. This is one time I think I'm gonna have to get some name brand ingredients. When you're adding things to water... it's imparitive the ingredients are the "best" because those same few ingredients are all you are tasteing. I love the idea of flavored creamers, and will also look into the type of dry milk to see if that makes a difference. As is though... even as is tweaked... I am not impressed. I love hot chocolate, so I am pretty picky. My kids on the other hand all gave me smiles and "I love this stuff mom!" So, glad I made 1/2 batch, will have no problem getting rid of the rest by my 4 kids, but am dissappointed since I had high expectations and originally made it to take to church tonight for a christmas get-together. Will try better quality ingredients next time and will re-review. (For the record, I make almost everything from scratch and this is the first time I have EVER had to buy "quality" ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salt&Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oregon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was really good. I followed it to a tee. I'm giving it to my friends for Christmas. I do wish it was a little bit creamier, but it was the perfect sweetness. Next time I make it I may try some different things that other people have tried. I will never go back to buying swiss miss!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I made this today to make for gifts. I cut the servings down to 20 bc I had 3 jars to fill, but I still had enough left over for a sandwich bag size of mix. Since I had leftover, I thought I'd try it. Very nice little hot cocoa mix. A little sweet, but most mixes are too sweet for me anyway. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I was impressed. I did as some of the others and added 2 cups of cocoa and 6 cups of powdered sugar. I am short on cash this year and have a lot of family, so I did some stocking stuffers by doing this recipe and putting 1 cup each in clear bags and using address labels to put the direction on the bags and then added a pretty little Christmas ribbon. There was a bit left over so I tried it myself and put a few marshmallows in it and it is great. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pooler, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
My family tried several of the hot chocolate recipes, including charting our individual ratings, and this one was by far the most popular. We all enjoyed it very much, which is quite a feat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I have to agree with some of the other reviewers, this is a good starter mix, but I feel that it could use some doctoring up. I messed up the first time I made a half batch and added just a little more cayenne pepper than I intended to add (an 1/8 tsp. should do btw), so I had to make another half batch to compensate. It s much better now. I also added 1 tsp. salt to the full batch to balance it all out. Also like some of the other reviewers, I cut the milk back by about 3/4 and added creamer to compensate. Very creamy thats for sure! I'm actually drinking it with water vs. milk, which is my prefered way to make hot cocoa and its pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My brother is serving in Afghanistan and I wanted to send him something that would warm him up now the weather has turned colder there. I made up a batch, adding a few little extras (finely chopped chocolate drops and a dash of chocolate nesquick milkshake) and was very pleasantly surprised. The flavour is lovely and chocolatey, ideal for making as a gift. I am sure my brother will love it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Chaplin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I used 1/2 cup more cocoa mix and this turned out very good. Its great for the kids. Not too, too sweet but not bland either. Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This cocoa was too watery for me. I like a richer, creamier, chocolatier cocoa. Increasing the amount of mix used per cup might help some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States