Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was an okay place to start, however I wound up doubling the cocoa and almost doubling the sugar for it to be as sweet as we like. With those changes, it turned out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DYMPLES805

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made a reduced calorie version with a couple changes. I used 2 cups of creamer, 2 cups of cocoa 1 dark 1 regular. Then I replaced the sugar with Splenda, while not totally sugar free (thanks to the milk and creamer) it's as close as I could get and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was pretty good. I made it last year to give out at Christmas in small decorated jars. I printed directions to make one cup on small squares of card stock, punched a hole in one corner of the square, and tied it to the lid with pretty red ribbon. I used cinnamon creamer and added a little Nesquik as another reviewer suggested. My mother-in-law said it tasted better when heated with milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
It's ok, a bit bitter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I give this recipe 4 stars just for the fact that I did take some of the advices from other reviewers! I did had some cocoa AND some confectioner's sugar. I ended up with creamy cocoa :) Yum! I will give some to my relatives during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
****update**** I used dark unseetened cocoa powder on our most recent batch and was so much better! I'd give this recipe a 4.5 stars if I could. It's really good, but just missing something that would make it great. I add a little cinnamon and cayanne to give it something different. If you like a more rich chocholate taste, you'll need to add a lot more than listed. I'll never buy store bought cocoa again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Good, but not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is delicious. I've tried a few different recipes and this is my favorite so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I intended to make a half recipe but didn't really read the recipe before I went to the store. I bought a small box of powdered milk so that was not really enough for half the recipe. Turns out it was plenty enough of powdered milk taste for me. I started out with about a cup and a quarter of Penzeys Natural High Fat Cocoa, (Strong, dark chocolate flavor) and ended up adding probably 3/4 cup Hersheys as well, then tossed in maybe 8 oz of Ghirardelli sweet ground chocolate and cocoa. Tweeked up the powdered sugar also but not by much, dd doesn't like it too sweet. I made a sample cup and was still not very impressed so I added 1/8 teaspoon vanilla and a dash of salt and it got a whole lot better. Dd loved it, said she liked it a LOT better than the scratch cocoa I made the other day off the Hersheys can. She is the one who will be drinking it so all is well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was not a keeper for me, even after following some of the tips of other reviewers. I did not use Hersey Cocoa so that may be the factor. It wasnt sweet enough or chocolaty enough. I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

Candy Cane Cocoa

Bring on the holiday cheer with the perfect drink to sip while trimming the tree.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States